Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Where to Publish

Identify & Evaluate Potential Journals

Search databases for articles in your subject area
Find Databases by Subject  and Databases A-Z

 

Find journals by discipline or broad subject area

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Online
Search  by broad subject category or for a specific journal  by title

Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities

Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."

MLA International Bibliography
Select Directory of Periodicals at the top of the screen

APA Journal Statistics and Operations Data


National professional associations

Check your professional associations for information about their publications.

Look at issues of the potential journals, scan tables of contents, check their Information for Authors

  1. What type of journal is it (academic, trade, etc)?
  2. What is the journal’s scope and target audience?
  3. Is the journal peer reviewed (refereed)?
  4. Is the journal Open Access?
  5. Where is the journal indexed?
  6. Who is the publisher?
  7. What is its acceptance rate?
  8. What is its rank or impact in the discipline?
  9. Who is publishing in this journal (what universities, what researchers, what disciplines)?

 

 

 

 

Adapted from Publishing Your Research Article. University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries Research Guide.
http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/content.php?pid=103674&sid=779714  Accessed 10 Oct 2010.