LibGuides: Women's Studies Program: WS Databases in the Library

WS Recommended Article Databases

Articles about women's studies, feminist studies or gender related studies are interdisciplinary. To find articles, you must use a database.

A database is a collection of information categorized by specific fields. Databases are usually searchable by keywords.

The following are "best" library databases to search for women's studies articles:

Project Muse
Project MUSE links to back issues of over 25 scholarly journals that are available in both Project MUSE and JSTOR.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides a full-text archive of almost 200 core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The service digitizes and provides enhanced indexing to complete collections of these journals, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. Current issues are not included and there is a fixed period of time, from 1 to 5 years, between the most recent issue of any journal and the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO]
mix of scholarly and popular journal articles
LGBT Life with Full Text [EBSCO]
Premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Disciplines covered by GLBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
America: History and Life [EBSCO]
This annotated bibliography is an exceptional resource for students and scholars studying the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO]
American History in Video
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest]
an interdisciplinary and bilingual (English and Spanish) database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- mostly popular articles
GenderWatch [ProQuest]
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women -- mostly popular articles
Readers’ Guide Retrospective [Wilson]
contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. and reflects the history of 20th century America -- mostly popular articles

Borrow from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan for Journal Articles (use only when the Fresno State Library does not have the journal/article)

• Login to ILLiad with your campus user name and password
• You must use your Fresno State email address in the Change Personal Information form.
Student addresses end with: @mail.fresnostate.edu
• You will receive an email once the requested material has arrived
• Articles will be delivered via your ILLiad account and available for 30 days

Interlibrary Loan Policies

Interlibrary Loan Questions? Contact: interlibraryloan@csufresno.edu (559) 278-3032

Google Scholar

If you really really need to do your search in Google.

USE Google Scholar Instead!