Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chem 129B - Organic Chemistry Lab

Organic Synthesis

Safety Data Sheets, Spectra, Handbooks, Data, etc.

Fisher Scientific
Safety Data Sheets Search
Use the search box to search by chemical name or CAS Registry Number, then click a catalog number to open the SDS pdf.

Sigma-Aldrich website
Search for a product and follow links to Safety Data Sheets.

 

Spectra

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS
   FAQs include copying and citing the images

Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra
Lower Level f QC 762 .P69 (volumes 1-11)

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
10 simultaneous users; off-campus access requires login
Physical and chemical data, with some references.

Merck Index online off-campus access requires login
Physical data, preparation references, toxicity and uses

CAS Common Chemistry
"CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes. This chemical information, curated by our expert scientists, is provided in alignment with our mission as a division of the American Chemical Society."

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Chemical and physical property data, some with spectra.

ChemSpider
Chemical substances database giving name, synonyms, experimental and predicted properties data. and links to references from PubMed, spectra from various sources etc.

PubChem Compound (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Contains validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance.
Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups.
Records include physical and chemical properties, safety and handling, links to articles in PubMed and other biochemical information from other NLM databases.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
1st floor, Reference  TP 9.K54 2004 27 volumes

More Chemical Data Sources

Chemical Data Sources from UCSB Library's Chemistry Guide
Websites with free collections of chemical data.

Organic Chemist's Desk Reference, 2nd ed.
In the Library: 1st floor, Reference  QD 257.7 .R46 2011
Online via Internet Archive (register and sign in for a free account to read)

Comprehensive Organic Name Reactions and Reagents
Reference QD 77 .W36 2009 (3 volumes)

Named Organic Reactions
Reference QD 291 .L3513 2000

Name Reactions: A Collection of Detailed Mechanisms and Synthetic Applications.
Lower Level QD 291 .L5 2009

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. 4ed
Reference QD 77 .E53 1995 (8 volumes)