The Enology and Viticulture Collection was established in 1968, when the Library purchased Roy Brady’s extensive personal collection of books and other materials on the topics. Mr. Brady, a well-known wine journalist, had assembled his collection over many years. Since that time the collection has grown a great deal, mostly by purchase but occasionally by transfer from the library’s general collection or by gift from donors. There are currently approximately 4,000 items in the collection. Its focus is on the history and development of wine making, the wine industry, and viticulture with an emphasis on pre-1940 works. The collection includes works in many languages and covers all areas of the world where grapes are grown.
While not the largest collection on the history of wine, the Enology Collection contains many rare and valuable books that are important for research. Its oldest book, a German translation of the important work by Arnaldus of Villanova, was printed in Strasburg in 1512 and was purchased by Mr. Brady from André L. Simon’s personal collection.
The books and periodicals in the collection are represented in the Library’s online system. The pamphlets and some other materials are not cataloged. Please inquire about these materials at firstname.lastname@example.org or (559) 278-2595.
The circulating, general stack collection includes many current, technical and general interest works on wine making, the wine industry, and viticulture. It also includes copies of some of the books in the Enology and Viticulture Collection.
All current, technical works on enology and viticulture shelved in the main stacks (and available for checkout) can be found in the Library Catalog.
Other wine book collections in California include:
Vincent Petrucci Library
Viticulture and Enology Research Center (VERC)
California State University, Fresno
An independently funded library with current, technical works on viticulture and enology that support student and faculty research at VERC in the Enology and Viticulture programs. The library also serves the private industry and provides research assistance to wineries and vintners. The collection contains 600 books, technical reports and theses and about 60 periodical titles. Open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to noon and 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
University of California, Davis
Contact: Axel Borg
With 25,000+ volumes and 325 periodical titles (140+ of which are active subscriptions), the Shields Library has one of the largest and most comprehensive wine collections in the state. It includes both current technical works as well as rare and specialized books in 29 languages. Access to the books is through Melvyl, the University of California’s online catalogue.
The Shields Library also has a collection of rare and specialized wine books and manuscript materials, housed in Special Collections. It includes the records of the Bureau of Alcohol and Tobacco Firearms (BATF), UC Davis’s Viticulture and Enology Department, the Italian Swiss Colony and the personal papers of Leon Adams, Maynard Amerine, and Roy Brady. They also have wine labels, advertisements and posters. For more information about these collections, refer to the department’s home page: http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/specol/ or contact the head of department, John Skarstad, (530) 752-1628 or email@example.com.
For information about their viticulture maps, contact David Lundquist at (530) 752-5248 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Sonoma County Wine Library
Contact: Bo Simons
Part of the Sonoma County library system, this special collection serves growers, wineries and wine-related businesses and is largely supported by subscribers to their service. The collection includes more than 4,000 volumes, some of them dating back 500 years, and more than 75 scholarly journals, trade publications, newsletters, tasting notes and consumer publications. The collection also includes extensive files of journal extracts, press kits, current market research, statistical compilations, legal and legislative reports and photographs documenting winemaking in Northern California from the 19th century to the present. The library also offers a searchable database of information on wine, wine-making and grape growing, digitized from an extensive vertical file: http://winefiles.org
The Napa Valley Wine Library Collection
St. Helena Public Library
St, Helena, California
In 1961 in St. Helena, Francis “Paco” Gould, M.F.K. Fisher and James Beard, convinced local vintners and other citizens to establish a collection devoted to wine, to be housed at the St. Helena Public Library. In 1963, the Napa Valley Wine Library Association was formed to acquire funds for the Napa Valley Wine Library; to encourage and solicit gifts of books, manuscripts and other documents pertaining to wine, particularly those relating to Napa Valley viticulture, enology and wine lore. Over the years, the collection has grown to over 3,500 titles and more than 50 periodicals are currently received. A successful and lengthy project recorded and transcribed oral histories of those associated with the local wine industry. The collection also includes the Wuttken Wine Label Collection, with more than 100,000 wine labels from all over the world, organized by country and winery.
Wine Institute Library
Contact: Robert Zerkowitz
A private library open to Wine Institute members and members of the press, the collection consists of about 3,000 titles and currently maintains subscriptions to over a hundred periodicals relevant to the wine industry. Most of the major wine trade and appreciation titles are represented.
Strengths of the collection include a notable historical and photo archive chronicling the history of the wine industry in California. The historical archives consist of extensive files on prominent wine industry figures, newspaper clippings, technical, legal, and marketing information, some dating back to the end of Prohibition and the beginnings of Wine Institute in 1934.
The photo archives are rich in images of California wine history. Major categories include vineyard practices, harvesting, cooperage, winery exteriors from the 1930′s through the 70′s as well as a historical section of even older photos dating back to the last century with many vintage images of California wine industry pioneers, important early events, and wineries. Rare wine lists, menus, historical wine periodicals and an old wine label collection are also part of the collection.