Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Study Abroad

Information about resources and services available to Fresno State students who are studying abroad

Research while abroad

When you are studying abroad, you still have access to most Fresno State electronic resources such as journal articles.

To access electronic resources:

  1. On the library homepage, select your electronic resource from the Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z link, or simply enter your keywords in the "Big Blue Box" on the library homepage.
  2. Select the "Articles" tab above your search results. Click the box next to "Full-text only".  To view an article, click the "Full text available" link.
  3. Then, on the next screen, click the "Full text online" link.  If full text is unavailable, this screen will say "No online full text available for this item"

Database access problems

If you encounter problems accessing our electronic resources while overseas, there are several things you can try to resolve the issue

  • Make sure you accessing resources through the library homepage. By doing this, we can authenticate you as a Fresno State user

  • Clear the cache and delete cookies in your browser.  Don't know how to do this?  Google "clear cache" or "delete cookies" and the name of your browser.

  • Try another internet browser, such as Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, or Safari

  • If you are using wifi or computers at a school or library, there can be firewall issues when trying to connect to Fresno State resources.  Try using the internet from another location such as an internet cafe or coffee shop to see if that fixes the problem.

Ebooks

What about books?

          

Did you know the library subscribes to over 100,000 ebooks? Ebooks can be accessed from anywhere as long as you have internet access, and some ebooks can even be downloaded!  See our Ebooks guide for more information, or use one of the following databases to find ebooks:

  • ebrary - Discover over 89,000 (and growing) full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research

  • Oxford Reference Online Premium - Reference library that includes subject dictionaries, the World Encyclopedia, English dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian, and entries from Oxford Companions and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.

  • ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection - ACLS Humanities E-Book Project is a website of over 1,700 books in the field of history. These are works of major importance to historical studies - books that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.