Finding Articles @ the Library
You can use OneSearch on the library homepage as a starting point for finding articles. For more information and tips, please visit the library's guide to using OneSearch. In addition to OneSearch, you can also use the databases below, which are focused on materials within History.
Find Articles
The following databases are good starting points for finding articles:
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes indexing of over 1,800 scholarly journals and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text collection of scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Content from last 3-5 years is generally not available in JSTOR.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for any topic, Academic Search Ultimate contains nearly 13,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. Content covers all subject areas with material from 1887 to the present.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Over 250 full text academic journals, magazines, and newspapers covering gender, women's, and LGBT studies. Content from 1970-present.
-
Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links) This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Upon following the link to Google Scholar below, you'll be presented with the option to associate your Google Scholar session with Fresno State library access links. Please SAVE these settings before continuing to use Google Scholar. Doing so will ensure that you're provided with Fresno State library access links when using this resource from off campus.