LibGuides: Media, Communication and Journalism: Find Newspapers/News Articles

Newspapers

For a comprehensive list of newspapers databases, see the Databases by Subject - Newspapers page.

Current

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent global news content – with archives that stretch back into the 1980s – from over 2,800 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
A great resource for current news, Proquest Newstand includes over 1,800 U.S. and international newspapers and other news sources, many in full text. Coverage from 1980-present. Major newspapers include New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and many others.
New York Times (1851-current) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the New York Times. Includes front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, and photographs.
Los Angeles Times (1881-current) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the Los Angeles Times. Includes front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, and photographs.
Fresno Bee (1876-current) This link opens in a new window
Search across three of Fresno's historical and current newspapers including The Fresno Bee (1922-current), Fresno Morning Republican (1887-1921), and the Fresno Republican Weekly (1876-1899).
California Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across 230 California newspapers. Titles include the Sacramento Bee, the San Francisco Chronicle, and the San Diego Union-Tribune. Coverage varies
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of 400+ newspapers, journals, and magazines of the ethnic and minority press. Content from 1985-present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Over 250 full text academic journals, magazines, and newspapers covering gender, women's, and LGBT studies. Content from 1970-present.

Historic

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 states. Features the complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations, advertisements, cartoons and much more. America's Historical Newspapers consists of Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. While these collections can be searched separately, America's Historical Newspapers offers a single interface to search across all three collections simultaneously.
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present,

Fresno State Publications

Fresno State Yearbooks
Digitized collection of Fresno State yearbooks, from 1912-1991
Insight
Insight was a newspaper created by students in the Journalism Department from October 8, 1969 to May 13, 1998. This newspaper was done in addition to the campus newspaper, the Daily Collegian. Insight was published three times a week.

The Collegian

The Collegian Website
Contains recent content of The Collegian, back to approximately 2010
The Collegian
Historical issues (1922-1988) of the Collegian digitized by the Fresno State Library.

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Issues of the Collegian from 2000 - present. Collegian issues are listed under publication title "University Wire", along with other college newspapers.