LibGuides: Media, Communication and Journalism: Find Books and Articles

Finding Books and Articles @ the Library

Use OneSearch on the library homepage to search for books and articles, and to search and request items from other libraries through CSU+. For more information and tips, please visit the library's guide to using OneSearch.

Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO]
Communication & Mass Media Complete like Communication & Mass Media Index, provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media
Academic Search Complete
An excellent starting point for any topic, Academic Search Ultimate contains nearly 13,000 full-text academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. Content covers all subject areas with material from 1887 to the present..
JSTOR
JSTOR is a full-text collection of scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Content from last 3-5 years is generally not available in JSTOR.
Google Scholar (through Proxy)
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate offers more comprehensive full-text access of journals published in disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting economics and finance.
ABI/Inform Collection
ABI/INFORM Collection offers a broad array of business information with more than 40 million documents from top sources, ranging from scholarly journals to trade publications and major newspapers. It provides industry reports, market reports, company profiles, investment news, commodity reports, country briefs, academic articles, and dissertations.
PsycINFO
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.

IBISWorld
Detailed industry market research reports, iExpert summaries, and featured reports on over 1,700 industries.
Mergent First Research
First Research provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.

PolicyMap
PolicyMap utilizes GIS and US data indicators to provide detailed maps, tables and charts of the nation. PolicyMap’s data indicators are accessible through the main menu and including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, and health.

See the Business Research Guide for additional resources that are available.

Didn't find an item you were looking for? Chances are we can still get it from another library for free!

The Fresno State Library offers two options for requesting materials:

Find and request books and media from all 23 CSU libraries.
Materials arrive in 2-4 business days
Most books have 60 day lending periods, no renewals. Media items (DVD's, audio CD's, etc.) usually 30 days, no renewals
Select the CSU+ Books and Media collection in Onesearch to find and request materials

Request articles and books not in CSU+ (not textbooks) through interlibrary loan
Books typically arrive in 7-10 business days, articles in 2-3 business days
Loan period for books varies, as is set by lending library. Articles arrive in PDF format and are accessible for 30 days
To request an item, log into your interlibrary loan account, and fill out a new request form