The following are film databases that the library subscribes to:
Streaming video collection containing videos from multiple subject areas including business, criminal justice, history, and education. The Films on Demand Master Academic Collection contains 10,000+ videos and the Nursing Video Collection contains 800+ videos.
Kanopy provides streaming access to documentaries, independent, and feature films. *Instructors: request access by completing the request form in front of the video, please add a note if needed for multiple semesters*. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, and others. Videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows.
Docuseek2 streams more than 1,600 independent, social-issue, and environmental films. Subjects covered include aging, agriculture and food, ecology, music, and much more. Up to 200 films will be added throughout the year. Producers in this collection include Bullfrog Films, DGenerate Films, Icarus Films, and more.
A Creative Commons License allows for the free use and distribution of a work, as long as you follow the conditions set by the creator. There are a number of different Creative Commons Licenses, so make sure you familiarize yourself with the license of a specific work before you use it.
Fair use is a legal doctrine that promotes freedom of expression by permitting the unlicensed use of copyright-protected works in certain circumstances
Four factors are considered when evaluating a question of fair use:
Stanford University Libraries has a good overview of fair use and some guidelines for claiming fair use.