History / Jewish Studies 100W Fields

Searchable full text of the New York Times. Includes front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, and photographs.

Searchable full text of the Los Angeles Times. Includes front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, and photographs.

Search across three of Fresno's historical and current newspapers including The Fresno Bee (1922-current), Fresno Morning Republican (1887-1921), and the Fresno Republican Weekly (1876-1899).

First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Primary source collection that includes full text access to hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers. Content spans from 1808-1980 and includes both English and Spanish language material.

Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel, the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States. Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing issues of the historic newspaper, which offers coverage of 1934-2010, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more

With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, this collection includes nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. Topics covered include community news, public health and welfare, education, cultural promotion and language revitalization, and much more.

A great resource for current news, Proquest Newstand includes over 1,800 U.S. and international newspapers and other news sources, many in full text. Coverage from 1980-present. Major newspapers include New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and many others.

Primary source collection of over 170 periodicals by or about African Americans. It includes full text access to popular magazines, academic and political journals, and more. Content spans from 1825 to 1995.

The Historical Periodicals Collection from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) contains full text periodicals (e.g., magazines and journals) published between 1691 to 1877. This five series collection covers several aspects of American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Topics include agriculture, applied science & technology, art, business, education, history, music, religion, women’s studies, and much more. AAS Historical Periodicals Collection consists of Series 1 (1684-1820), Series 2 (1821-1837), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865), and Series 5 (1866-1877). While these collections can be searched separately, AAS Historical Periodicals Collection offers a single interface to search across all five collections simultaneously.

Primary source collection that includes full text access to over 1,000 American magazines and journals published between 1740-1943. This collection chronicles the development of America across 150 years over three broad periods: America's transition from colonial times to independence, the Civil War (1861-1865), Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras, the settling of the West, and the emergence of modern America.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Confidential Print: Latin America covers revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, among other topics.

The American State Papers contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. Documents in this collection cover topics such as commerce, public lands, finance, military and foreign affairs. The collection covers the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. Please refer to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 database for post 1816 documents.

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set contains House & Senate Reports; House and Senate Documents; Senate treaty documents and Senate executive reports. These include annual reports of agencies; presidential messages, including vetoes; president’s state of the union address. This is a database of primary historical source materials that document the political, social and economic development of our nation.####The U.S. Congressional Serial Set began in 1817. To see documents before this date, refer to the American State Papers, 1789-1838

Digitized legal journals, reviews, U.S. government documents, regulations, laws, and treaties.

The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.

Contains manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact between American Indians and Europeans. This resource provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.

Contains primary source material including audio, surveys, and photographs on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during 1943-1970. Materials were sourced from the the Race Relations Department, based at Fisk University, and now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.

The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-today running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.