Onesearch @ the Library
Use OneSearch on the library homepage to find books and articles, and to search and request items from other libraries through CSU+. For more information and tips, please visit the library's guide to using OneSearch.
Find Articles
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes indexing of over 1,800 scholarly journals and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text collection of scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Content from last 3-5 years is generally not available in JSTOR.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for any topic, Academic Search Ultimate contains nearly 13,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. Content covers all subject areas with material from 1887 to the present.
- Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links) This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Upon following the link to Google Scholar below, you'll be presented with the option to associate your Google Scholar session with Fresno State library access links. Please SAVE these settings before continuing to use Google Scholar. Doing so will ensure that you're provided with Fresno State library access links when using this resource from off campus. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Over 250 full text academic journals, magazines, and newspapers covering gender, women's, and LGBT studies. Content from 1970-present.
- Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Over 450 publications covering all aspects of Jewish studies, most available in full text. Material from 1922-present.
How do I find the full article?
First, look for an HTML or PDF full text link. If available, click either link for full text. Otherwise, click the Find It@FresnoState.
If full text is available, click the link for the article. Otherwise, there will be a link for requesting the article through Interlibrary Loan.
Primary Source Books
There are a number of strategies you can use to locate books with primary source material.
1. Keywords
Certain keywords listed in a book title or subject heading indicate that it contains primary source material. Look for any of the following words:
- documents
- letters
- speeches
- papers
- personal narratives
- correspondence
- records
- diary
- sources
- texts
- journals
In a title:
In a subject heading (located in the item record):
2. Author
If you are researching a specific person, look for that person's name listed as an author (just below the title). It may be a book they wrote, such as an autobiography, or a collection of their works, such as speeches or letters.
In Advanced Search, you can also search specifically by author.
3. Date
You sometimes identify primary sources based on the date of publication. Sources published during the time period you are researching can be primary sources. Just be aware that primary sources can be published long after the event, so date alone won't always tell you whether a source is primary.
4. Bibliographies / References
Check the bibliography or reference list of secondary sources that you have found, such as books, articles, or even Wikipedia. These sources will almost always list their sources, and sometimes will even include a separate list of primary sources they consulted.
