The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles
♦ Multidisciplinary databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate and Web of Science Core Collection
These index articles in scholarly journals as well as other types of publications.
You can limit your search results to only journal articles.
♦ Discipline-specific databases, such as CAB Abstracts, FSTA, and BIOSIS take broader views of scholarly/professional literature
and also index publications types such as dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings,
and technical reports.
Most of these databases will allow you to limit your search results to only scholarly journals.
♦ Find a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.
♦ Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals, so pay attention to what you have retrieved.
♦ Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from a publication's works cited section.
♦ Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item.
Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references
(the ones they see in their own universes) so you can identify more recent articles that cited the one you like.
Below are some suggested databases. You can access them by using the links provided or by searching for the database name or subject.
Agricola [Ebsco]
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and book chapters, but include other type of resources.
CAB Abstracts [Ebsco]
International coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.
FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts [Ebsco] ***2 simultaneous users***
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition. Covers all the major food commodities, biotechnology and microbiology, as well as food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.
Web of Science [Clarivate Analytics]
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world, as well as books and conference proceedings.
Provides cited by and cited references, which lets you navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
• Includes links to open-access full text articles
BIOSIS Citation Index via the Web of Science Interface [Clarivate Analytics]
Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological and medical literature. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Provides cited and cited by references, which lets you navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
• Includes links to open-access full text articles
Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links)
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Also includes patents.