Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NUTR 160 - Nutrition Through the Lifecycle

Journal Articles

CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health) (1937-  )
Good source for articles on nutrition, health conditions, and dietary needs in clinical settings

Medline via Web of Knowledge  (1950-    )
PubMed's Medline database through the Web of Knowledge search interface

PubMed (this link tells PubMed you are from Fresno State)
U.S. National Library of Medicine database with citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
• Using PubMed via Madden Library gives you links in the results list for access to more resources.
  
Off-campus access to these resources via Find It @ Fresno State may require login

Web of Science  1990-
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) 

FSTA – Food Science and Technology Abstracts®, produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is the world's leading database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. Abstracts are highly informative and wherever possible, include additional information of food-relevance from the original article. The database includes material from over 4,600 serial publications, covering all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Coverage spans from 1969 - present. The database includes more than 740,000 records, with more than 35,000 records added annually.

GoogleScholar with library links
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

To get  Find It @ Fresno State to work from Google Scholar:
Either go to GoogleScholar through the campus proxy
Or, in Google Scholar:
     1. Click Scholar Settings
     2. Type fresno in the  Library Links box and click <Find Library>
     3. Select CSU Fresno - Find It at Fresno State
     4. Click  Save
  (you might need to click on More to see the Find It @ option in Google Scholar's list of citations)

1.  Use * for alternate word endings
      e.g.,   child* retrieves child, children, childhood,  etc.

2.  Use AND between words unless it is a phrase

3.  Use OR for synonyms or related terms

4.  To refine or expand your search:

   --Use keywords from article abstracts

   --Look at the subject terms or other "controlled terms"

5.  More words=fewer results

6.  Make use of the multiple-line search options

  --Use the different lines of search screens to enter different concepts that you want in your results

e.g.:       anthocyanins
      and  color*
     and   toxic* or food safety

7.  Look for ways to refine or limit your search results:
  by date,
  to academic or peer-reviewed articles, or other publication type
  by population
  by age group
  etc.