Finding Articles @ the Library
You can use OneSearch on the library homepage finding articles and books. For more information and tips, please visit the library's guide to using OneSearch.
Find Articles
The following databases are most useful for locating scholarly/peer-reviewed articles for political science:
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. As well as journals, WPSA also indexes books, book chapters, reviews of books and other media, and dissertations.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles in business and the social sciences. Emphasis on international coverage of public policy, government, international relations and current economic, political and social thought. The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
- Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links) This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Upon following the link to Google Scholar below, you'll be presented with the option to associate your Google Scholar session with Fresno State library access links. Please SAVE these settings before continuing to use Google Scholar. Doing so will ensure that you're provided with Fresno State library access links when using this resource from off campus.
Other Databases for Articles
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for any topic, Academic Search Ultimate contains nearly 13,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. Content covers all subject areas with material from 1887 to the present.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth reports on controversial issues. Topics include social issues, environment, science, crime, education, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text collection of scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Content from last 3-5 years is generally not available in JSTOR.
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source material including audio, surveys, and photographs on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during 1943-1970. Materials were sourced from the the Race Relations Department, based at Fisk University, and now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Contains manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact between American Indians and Europeans. This resource provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.