LibGuides: Political Science: Statistics / Data

Statistics / Data

American National Election Studies
ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
Ballotpedia.org
Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Our goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. We are firmly committed to neutrality in our content.
Bureau of Labor Statistcs
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data
Data and statistics on a number of health related topics.
Data.gov
Federal open government data site. Contains data on climate, consumers, education, energy, health, and much more.
FBI Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program
The UCR Program's primary objective is to generate reliable information for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management; over the years, however, the data have become one of the country’s leading social indicators.
Harvard Dataverse
The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data.
Fresno State Office of Institutional Effectiveness (OIE)
OIE collects and shares data about Fresno State and it's students/faculty.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
MIT Election Lab
Supports advances in election science by collecting, analyzing, and sharing core data and findings.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) collects, analyzes and makes available data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap utilizes GIS and US data indicators to provide detailed maps, tables and charts of the nation. PolicyMap’s data indicators are accessible through the main menu and including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, and health. Data can be viewed on the census tract level in many cases, as well as city, county, zip, state, US congressional district, school district, state house and state senate districts.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Explore over 500,000 data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States from present to 1790, including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets.

SourceWatch
SourceWatch profiles the activities of front groups, PR spinners, industry-friendly experts, industry-funded organizations, and think tanks trying to manipulate public opinion on behalf of corporations or government.
US Census Data
From the Census Bureau, contains data on population, housing, economic and geographic information for the United States.
US Economic Census
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (Department of Homeland Security)
Yearly publication providing data on foreign nationals who were granted permanent residence or admitted into the United States on a temporary basis.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Correlates of War Project
COW seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations.
ElectionGuide
Provided by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems, ElectionGuide the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information available online.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union
Freedom House - Freedom in the World
For each country and territory, Freedom in the World analyzes the electoral process, political pluralism and participation, the functioning of the government, freedom of expression and of belief, associational and organizational rights, the rule of law, and personal autonomy and individual rights.
Global Terrorism Database
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD)™ is the most comprehensive unclassified database of terrorist attacks in the world. The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) makes the GTD available via this site in an effort to improve understanding of terrorist violence, so that it can be more readily studied and defeated.
IMF Data
Economic and financial data from the International Monetary Fund
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (UN Data)
The Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries
OFFSTATS
The OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Links are arranged by country, region or subject.
Organization For Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Data
Includes extensive data, reports, and surveys on economics, development, education, energy, and more.
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data
World Health Organization (WHO)
Global health data provided by the World Health Organization

American National Election Studies
ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
Gallup Poll
Regular polling on a variety of different subjects.
Kaiser Family Foundation Surveys
Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Latin America Public Opinion Project
LAPOP is a world leader in the development, implementation, and analysis of studies of opinions and behaviors.
Monmouth University Polling Institute
Polling reports back to 2005.
Odum Institute Archive Dataverse
The Odum Institute Archive Dataverse contains social science data curated and archived by the Odum Institute Data Archive at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank which conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Both US and global polling.
World Public Opinion
WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project studying public opinion on international issues in more than 25 countries.