Featured Comics and Books
Whether you are new to comics or an avid reader, sometimes recommended reading lists can help guide you towards what to read next. Here are a few lists featuring graphic novels from the Library's collections. Remember to search the Library's catalog to discover even more graphic novels.
Graphic Novels
Featured new titles that have recently been added to the Library's collections:
-
Defiant: The Story of Robert Smalls
by
Publication Date: 2025Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Enslaved persons -- South Carolina -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc
African American sailors -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
A Quick & Easy Guide to Sex & Disability
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Sex instruction for people with disabilities // People with disabilities -- Sexual behavior -
L'Affaire Francis Blake
by
Publication Date: 2012Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Espionage -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Les 3 Formules du Prof. Sato
by
Publication Date: 1977Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- Belgium -
Le Château des Animaux
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Animals -- Comic books, strips, etc // Civil disobedience -- Comic books, strips, etc // Orwell, George, 1903-1950 Animal farm -- Adaptations -
Les Quatre Fleuves
by
Publication Date: 2000Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Bandes dessinées policières noires // Noir comics -
Woman, Life, Freedom
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Teacher Resource Center/Curr
Included Subjects: Women -- Iran -- Social conditions -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women -- Violence against -- Iran -- Comic books, strips, etc // Feminism -- Iran -- History -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women -- Political activity -- Iran -- History -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Protest movements -- Iran -- History -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Hijab (Islamic clothing) -- Law and legislation -- Iran -- Comic books, strips, etc // Police brutality -- Iran -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Ruth Asawa: An Artist Takes Shape
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Teacher Resource Center/Curr
Included Subjects: Women sculptors -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc
Japanese American sculptors -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Shababz!: A Graphic Journey Through Islamic Feminism
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Open Access E-Book
Included Subjects: Muslim women -- Comic books, strips, etc // Feminism -- Religious aspects -- Islam -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Zodiac: A Graphic Memoir
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Artists -- Comic books, strips, etc // Zodiac -- Comic books, strips, etc // Folklore -- China -- Comic books, strips, etc // China -- History -- Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976 -- Personal narratives -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Man in the Mcintosh Suit
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Filipino Americans -- California -- Comic books, strips, etc // Agricultural laborers, Foreign -- California -- Comic books, strips, etc // Separated people -- Comic books, strips, etc // Nineteen twenties -- Comic books, strips, etc // San Francisco (Calif.) -- Comic books, strips, etc // California -- History -- 1850-1950 -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Cartoonist
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Cartoonists -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Work and family -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Made in Korea Vol. 1
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Artificial intelligence -- Comic books, strips, etc // Adoption -- Comic books, strips, etc // Androids -- Comic books, strips, etc -
This Country: Searching for Home in (Very) Rural America
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Cartoonists -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Identity (Psychology) -- Comic books, strips, etc // National characteristics, American -- Comic books, strips, etc // West (U.S.) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Roaming
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Spring break -- Comic books, strips, etc // Female friendship -- Comic books, strips, etc // College students -- Comic books, strips, etc // Interpersonal relations -- Comic books, strips, etc // Canadians -- New York (State) -- New York -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lesbians -- Comic books, strips, etc // New York (N.Y.) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Kafka
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Graphic novel adaptations // Fantasy comics // Psychological comics // Manga -
Huda F Cares?
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Sisters -- Comic books, strips, etc // Muslim girls -- Comic books, strips, etc // Identity (Psychology) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Humorous stories // Walt Disney World (Fla.) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
40 Men and 12 Rifles: Indochina 1954
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Indochinese War, 1946-1954 -- Propaganda -- Comic books, strips, etc // Artists -- Comic books, strips, etc // Soldiers -- Social conditions -- Comic books, strips, etc // Vietnam -- Armed Forces -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Lunar New Year Love Story
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Chinese New Year -- Comic books, strips, etc // Dating (Social customs) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Vietnamese Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lion dance -- Comic books, strips, etc // Teenagers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Families -- Comic books, strips, etc // Love -- Comic books, strips, etc // Fate and fatalism -- Comic books, strips, etc // Spirits -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Lunar Boy
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Extraterrestrial beings -- Comic books, strips, etc // Stepfamilies -- Comic books, strips, etc // Belonging (Social psychology) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transgender characters. -
All Our Ordinary Stories: A Multigenerational Family Odyssey
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Chinese -- Canada -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Chinese -- Canada -- Social conditions -- Comic books, strips, etc // Wong, Teresa, 1976- -- Family -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Spellbound: A Graphic Memoir
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transgender women -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bengali Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc -
There Is No Right Way to Meditate
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Meditation // Mindfulness (Psychology) -
The Good Asian: An Edison Hark Mystery
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Chinese Americans -- California -- San Francisco -- Comic books, strips, etc // Murder -- Investigation -- California -- San Francisco -- Comic books, strips, etc // Chinatown (San Francisco, Calif.) -- 20th century -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Night Eaters Book 1: She Eats the Night
by
Publication Date: 2022Location Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Chinese Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc // Psychic trauma -- Comic books, strips, etc // Supernatural -- Comic books, strips, etc // Monsters -- Comic books, strips, etc // Demonology -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Strange, Dark & Mysterious: The Graphic Stories
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Parapsychology -- Comic books, strips, etc // Supernatural -- Comic books, strips, etc // Horror comic books, strips, etc -
Advocate: A Graphic Memoir of Family, Community, and the Fight for Environmental Justice
by
Publication Date: 2024Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Environmental justice -- Comic books, strips, etc // Nonprofit organizations -- Employees -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Environmentalists -- California -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lawyers -- California -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Korean American families -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The History of Japan. 16, Towards a More Diverse Society: From the Heisei Era to the Reiwa Era
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Japan -- History -- Heisei period, 1989-2019 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Japan -- Politics and government -- 1989- -- Comic books, strips, etc // Japan -- Social conditions -- 1989- -- Comic books, strips, etc
Featured titles that include current discussion topics:
-
Artist
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Novelists, Korean -- Comic books, strips, etc // Painters -- Korea (South) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Musicians -- Korea (South) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Artists -- Korea (South) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Sensory: Life on the Spectrum: An Autistic Comic Anthology
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Neurodiversity // Autism // Self-acceptance -
Huda F Are You?
by
Publication Date: 2021Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Muslims // Identity (Psychology) // High schools -
Guantanamo Voices: True Accounts from the World's Most Infamous Prison
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Teacher Resource Center/Curr
Included Subjects: Guantanamo Bay Detention Camp // Prisoners of war -- United States -
Dragon Hoops
by
Publication Date: 2020Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center, the Graphic Novel Collection, and the Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: High school teachers -- California -- Oakland // Basketball -- Tournaments -- California -- Oakland // High schools -- California -- Oakland // Chinese Americans -
Drawing the Vote: An Illustrated Guide to Voting in America
by
Publication Date: 2020Included Subjects: Voting -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Elections -- United States -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc -
This Place: 150 Years Retold
by
Publication Date: 2019Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center, the Graphic Novel Collection, and the Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Indigenous peoples -- Canada -- Comic books, strips, etc // Indigenous peoples -- Canada -- Juvenile fiction // Indigenous peoples -- Canada -- Fiction // Canada -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Canada -- History -- Juvenile fiction // Canada -- History -- Fiction -
Drawing Power: Women's Stories of Sexual Violence, Harassment, and Survival
by
Publication Date: 2019Included Subjects: Sexual abuse victims // Women -
Vindication Volume 1
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Police -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American men -- Comic books, strips, etc // Murder -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Hot Comb
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Women, Black -- Social life and customs -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women, Black -- Race identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Hair -- Social aspects -- Comic books, strips, etc // Beauty, Personal -- Social aspects -- Comic books, strips, etc // Salons -- Fiction -
BTTM FDRS
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Monsters -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gentrification -- Comic books, strips, etc // Social classes -- Illinois -- Chicago -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism -- Comic books, strips, etc // Fashion designers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Chicago (Ill.) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Cannabis: The Illegalization of Weed in America
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Marijuana -- Law and legislation -- Comic books, strips, etc // Marijuana -- Government policy -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Drug legalization -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc -
This Woman's Work
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Delporte, Julie -- Comic books, strips, etc // Feminism -- Comic books, strips, etc -
PTSD
by
Publication Date: 2019Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Post-traumatic stress disorder -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women veterans -- Comic books, strips, etc // Homeless persons -- Comic books, strips, etc // Drug abuse -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Drawing on Anger: Portraits of U.S. Hypocrisy
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Domestic relations -- United States -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc // United States -- Politics and government -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc // United States -- History -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc // United States -- Foreign relations -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Yellow Negroes and Other Imaginary Creatures 1995-2017
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Race relations -- Comic books, strips, etc // Immigrants -- France -- Paris -- Comic books, strips, etc // Refugees -- France -- Paris -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Your Black Friend and Other Strangers
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Group identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Race relations -- Comic books, strips, etc // African Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc // Caucasian race -- Comic books, strips, etc // Friendship -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Diary of a Reluctant Dreamer: Undocumented Vignettes from a Pre-American Life
by
Publication Date: 2017Included Subjects: Noncitizens -- California -- Oakland // Mexican Americans -- California -- Oakland // United States -- Emigration and immigration -- Social aspects -
Comics for Choice: Illustrated Abortion Stories, History, and Politics
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Abortion -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Abortion -- Political aspects -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Reproductive rights -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Pro-choice movement -- Comic books, strips, etc // Unwanted pregnancy -- Comic books, strips, etc // Pregnant women -- Comic books, strips, etc -
I Am Alfonso Jones
by
Publication Date: 2017Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Black lives matter movement -- Comic books, strips, etc // Police shootings -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American teenagers -- Death -- Comic books, strips, etc // Justice -- Fiction // New York (N.Y.) -- Comic books, strips, etc
Featured titles related to the subject of history (non-fiction and fiction):
-
Last on His Feet: Jack Johnson and the Battle of the Century
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: African American boxers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Boxers (Sports) -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism in sports -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism against Black people -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Tokyo Rose - Zero Hour : A Japanese American Woman's Persecution and Ultimate Redemption After World War II
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Japanese Americans -- 20th century // War and radio broadcasting // World War, 1939-1945 -
The 500 Years of Indigenous Resistance Comic Book
by
Publication Date: 2021Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: America -- Colonization -- Comic books, strips, etc // Government, Resistance to -- America -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Indigenous peoples -- America -- Government relations -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Black Panther Party
by
Publication Date: 2021Location: Teacher Resource Center/Curr
Included Subjects: African Americans -- Politics and government // Black power // United States // Black Panther Party -
Year of the Rabbit
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Tian, 1975- -- Family -- Comic books, strips, etc // Political refugees -- Cambodia -- Comic books, strips, etc // Genocide survivors -- Cambodia -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cambodia -- Politics and government -- 1975-1979 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cambodia -- History -- 1975-1979 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cambodia -- Social conditions -- 20th century -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Big Black: Stand at Attica
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Smith, Frank, 1933-2004 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Attica Correctional Facility -- Comic books, strips, etc // Prison riots -- New York (State) -- Attica -- Comic books, strips, etc // Torture -- New York (State) -- Attica -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Invisible Empire: Madge Oberholtzer and the Unmasking of the Ku Klux Klan
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Oberholtzer, Madge, 1896-1925 // Stephenson, David Curtis, 1891-1966 // Ku Klux Klan (1915- ) -
La Voz de M.A.Y.O.: Tata Rambo. Volume 1
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Jaurigue, Ramon -- Comic books, strips, etc // Yaqui Indians -- Government relations -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Political activists -- Comic books, strips, etc // Tucson (Ariz.) -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Isadora
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Duncan, Isadora, 1877-1927 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Dancers -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Ballet dancers -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Vanni: A Family's Struggle Through the Sri Lankan Conflict
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Refugees -- Psychology // War crimes -- Psychology // Families -- Psychological aspects // Stress (Psychology) -- Psychology // Sri Lanka -
Grass
by
Publication Date: 2019Location:Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Comfort women -- Comic books, strips, etc // Child slaves -- Korea -- History -- 20th century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Child sexual abuse -- Korea -- History -- 20th century -- Comic books, strips, etc // World War, 1939-1945 -- Atrocities -- Comic books, strips, etc // World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives -- Comic books, strips, etc // Korea -- History -- Japanese occupation, 1910-1945 -- Comic books, strips, etc -
I Know What I Am: The Life and Times of Artemisia Gentileschi
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gentileschi, Artemisia, 1593-1652 or 1653 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Painters -- Italy -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Night Witches
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: World War, 1939-1945 -- Campaigns -- Russia (Federation) -- Comic books, strips, etc // World War, 1939-1945 -- Aerial operations -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women air pilots -- Comic books, strips, etc -
This Land Is My Land: A Graphic History of Big Dreams, Micronations, and Other Self-Made States
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Nation-building // Utopias // States, Small -
Showtime at the Apollo: The Epic Tale of Harlem's Legendary Theater
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Apollo Theater (New York, N.Y. : 125th Street) -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American theater -- New York (State) -- New York -- History -- 20th century -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American entertainers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Music-halls (Variety-theaters, cabarets, etc.) -- New York (State) -- New York -- Comic books, strips, etc // Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Hedy Lamarr: An Incredible Life
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Lamarr, Hedy, 1913-2000 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Motion picture actors and actresses -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Che: A Graphic Biography
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Guevara, Che, 1928-1967 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Guerrillas -- Latin America -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Other Side
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Soldiers -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Hip Hop Family Tree. 1, 1970s-1981
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Hip-hop -- Comic books, strips, etc // Rap (Music) -- History and criticism -- Comic books, strips, etc // Rap musicians -- Comic books, strips, etc // Turntablism -- Comic books, strips, etc // Music -- Social aspects -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American youth -- Social life and customs -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American musicians -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Abina and the Important Men: A Graphic History
by
Publication Date: 2016Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Mansah, Abina -- Trials, litigation, etc. -- Comic books, strips, etc // Slavery -- Law and legislation -- Ghana -- History -- 19th century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women slaves -- Ghana -- History -- 19th century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women slaves -- Ghana -- Social conditions -- History -- 19th century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women slaves -- Violence against -- Ghana -- History -- 19th century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sex crimes -- Ghana -- History -- 19th century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sex role -- Ghana -- History -- 19th century -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Ghetto Brother: Warrior to Peacemaker
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gangs -- New York (State) -- New York -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Community activists -- New York (State) -- New York -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Puerto Ricans -- New York (State) -- New York -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sephardim -- New York (State) -- New York -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bronx (New York, N.Y.) -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Nanjing: The Burning City
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Nanjing, Battle of, Nanjing, Jiangsu Sheng, China, 1937 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Nanking Massacre, Nanjing, Jiangsu Sheng, China, 1937 -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Strange Fruit Volume 1
by
Publication Date: 2014Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: African Americans -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Heroes -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // African Americans -- History -- Anecdotes -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American celebrities -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Escape to Gold Mountain: A Graphic History of the Chinese in North America
by
Publication Date: 2012Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Chinese -- Canada -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Chinese -- United States -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism -- Canada -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism -- United States -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Chinese -- Canada -- History // Chinese -- United States -- History -
Who Is Ana Mendieta?
by
Publication Date: 2011Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Mendieta, Ana, 1948-1985 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women artists -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc
Featured memoirs and personal stories:
-
Family Style: Memories of an American from Vietnam
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Teacher Resource Center/Curr
Included Subjects: Vietnamese Americans -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Refugee camps -- Thailand -- Comic books, strips, etc // Vietnamese Americans -- California -- Comic books, strips, etc // Food -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Talk
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: African American children -- Social conditions -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Discrimination in law enforcement -- Comic books, strips, etc // Police brutality -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Race relations -- Comic books, strips, etc // Coming of age -- Comic books, strips, etc // Child rearing -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Parent and child -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The High Desert
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Racially mixed people -- Race identity -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Music and race -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Punk rock music -- Social aspects -- Comic books, strips, etc // Punk culture -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // African Americans -- California -- Apple Valley -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Petroleum workers -- Canada -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women employees -- Canada -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Psychic trauma -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual harassment -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Messy Roots: A Graphic Memoir of a Wuhanese American
by
Publication Date: 2022Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Gao, Laura // Chinese Americans -
Run
by
Publication Date: 2021Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Lewis, John, 1940-2020 // Legislators -- United States // African American legislators -
The Secret to Superhuman Strength
by
Publication Date: 2021Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Physical fitness // Fads -
My Body in Pieces
by
Publication Date: 2021Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Body image -
Fights: One Boy's Triumph Over Violence
by
Publication Date: 2020Copies located in the Graphic Novel Collection and Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Gill, Joel Christian -- Childhood and youth -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cartoonists -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American cartoonists // African Americans -- Social conditions -- Comic books, strips, etc // Violence // Coming of age -
I Was Their American Dream: A Graphic Memoir
by
Publication Date: 2019Copies located in the Graphic Novel Collection and the Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Immigrants -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racially mixed people -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Filipino Americans -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Egyptian Americans -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // American Dream -- Comic books, strips, etc -
They Called Us Enemy
by
Publication Date: 2019Copies located in the Graphic Novel Collection and the Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Takei, George, 1937- -- Childhood and youth -- Comic books, strips, etc // Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945 -- Comic books, strips, etc // World War, 1939-1945 -- Japanese Americans -- Cartoons and comics // Japanese -- United States -- History -- Cartoons and comics // California -- History -- 1850-1950 -- Comic books, strips, etc -
More Than Money
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Mexican American women artists -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Mexican American women authors -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Super Late Bloomer
by
Publication Date: 2018Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Kaye, Julia, 1988- -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transgender people -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Male-to-female transsexuals -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transgender artists -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender identity -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sex change -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Krug, Nora -- Comic books, strips, etc // German American artists -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // German American authors -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Collective memory -- Germany -- Comic books, strips, etc // National socialism -- Psychological aspects -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Good Talk: A Memoir in Conversations
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Jacob, Mira, 1973- -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women authors, American -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asian American authors -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Tales from la Vida: A Latinx Comics Anthology
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Hispanic Americans -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // American literature -- Hispanic American authors -- History and criticism -- Comic books, strips, etc // Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism -- Comic books, strips, etc // Autobiographical comic books, strips, etc // Hispanic Americans -- Biography -
The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir
by
Publication Date: 2017Included Subjects: Refugees -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Personal narratives -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asian Americans -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Vietnamese Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Arab of the Future: A Graphic Memoir
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Sattouf, Riad -- Childhood and youth -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cartoonists -- France -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Middle East -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Snapshots of a Girl
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Sezen, Beldan, 1967- -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lesbians -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc
Featured titles related to the Graphic Medicine field:
For more information on Graphic Medicine, visit the Graphic Medicine International Collective's website.
-
Down to the Bone: A Leukemia Story
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Acute leukemia -- Patients -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women illustrators -- France -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lymphoblastic leukemia -
Graphic Public Health: A Comics Anthology and Road Map
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Public health // Health education -
Dear Scarlet: The Story of My Postpartum Depression
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Wong, Teresa, 1976- -- Health -- Comic books, strips, etc // Postpartum depression -- Patients -- Canada -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Mothers -- Canada -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
States of Mind
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Guillon, Emilie -- Comic books, strips, etc // Medicine -- Comic books, strips, etc // Manic-depressive illness -- Comic books, strips, etc // Comic books, strips, etc -- France -- Translations into English -
Camouflage: The Hidden Lives of Autistic Women
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Autism spectrum disorders -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women -- Mental health -- Comic books, strips, etc -
About Betty's Boob
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Mastectomy -- Patients -- Comic books, strips, etc // Breast -- Cancer -- Psychological aspects -- Comic books, strips, etc // Body image in women -- Comic books, strips, etc // Burlesque (Theater) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Lighter Than My Shadow
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Eating disorders -- Patients -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Eating disorders -- Patients -- Family relationships -- Comic books, strips, etc // Eating disorders -- Patients -- Rehabilitation -- Comic books, strips, etc // Child abuse -- Comic books, strips, etc // Social Topics -- Sexual Abuse -- Young adult nonfiction -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Imagine Wanting Only This
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Radtke, Kristen -- Psychology -- Comic books, strips, etc // Loss (Psychology) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Lissa: A Story About Medical Promise, Friendship, and Revolution
by
Publication Date: 2017Included Subjects: Breast -- Cancer -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Aliceheimer's: Alzheimer's Through the Looking Glass
by
Publication Date: 2016Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Alzheimer's disease -- Patients -- Biography // Alzheimer's disease -- Patients -- Family relationships -- Biography // Caregivers -- Biography -
Wrinkles
by
Publication Date: 2016Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Alzheimer's disease -- Comic books, strips, etc // Old age -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Ghosts
by
Publication Date: 2016Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Teacher Resource Center/Juv.
Included Subjects: Cystic fibrosis in children -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cystic fibrosis in children -- Juvenile fiction // Cystic fibrosis -- Fiction -
The Story of My Tits
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Breast -- Cancer -- Patients -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Second Avenue Caper
by
Publication Date: 2014Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: AIDS (Disease) -- New York (State) -- New York -- Comic books, strips, etc // AIDS (Disease) -- Political aspects -- New York (State) -- New York -- Comic books, strips, etc // AIDS (Disease) -- Social aspects -- New York (State) -- New York -- Comic books, strips, etc // AIDS activists -- New York (State) -- New York -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Nineteen eighties -- Comic books, strips, etc // Medicine -- Comic books, strips, etc // New York (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Calling Dr. Laura: A Graphic Memoir
by
Publication Date: 2013Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Georges, Nicole J -- Comic books, strips, etc // Schlessinger, Laura -- Comic books, strips, etc // Identity (Psychology) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Family secrets -- Comic books, strips, etc // Identity -- Comic, books, strips, etc -
Epileptic
by
Publication Date: 2005Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Epileptics -- Comic books, strips, etc // Epilepsy -- Comic books, strips, etc
Featured adaptations of prose literature (fiction and non-fiction):
-
Lore Olympus
by
Publication Date: 2021-2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Mythology, Greek -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Graceling: The Graphic Novel
by
Publication Date: 2021Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Fantasy // Kings, queens, rulers, etc // Friendship // Girls -- Conduct of life // Murder // Voyages and travels -
Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Teacher Resource Center/Curr
Included Subjects: African American teenage boys // Ghost stories // Homicide // Revenge // Brothers -
The Handmaid's Tale
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Atwood, Margaret, 1939- Handmaid's tale -- Adaptations // Misogyny -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Iliad
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Achilles (Mythological character) -- Juvenile fiction // Achilles (Mythological character) -- Fiction // Homer. Iliad -- Adaptations // Trojan War -- Juvenile fiction // Trojan War -- Fiction // Mythology, Greek -- Fiction -
Frankenstein
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Scientists -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction // Monsters -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction // High school students -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction // Haunted houses -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction -
Anne Frank's Diary: The Graphic Adaptation
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Jewish children in the Holocaust -- Netherlands -- Amsterdam -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Jews -- Persecutions -- Netherlands -- Amsterdam -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women -- Biography -- Cartoons and comics -
American Gods Volume 1: Shadows
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gods -- Comic books, strips, etc // Widowers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bodyguards -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American men -- Comic books, strips, etc // Ex-convicts -- Comic books, strips, etc -
To Kill a Mockingbird: A Graphic Novel
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Fathers and daughters -- Comic books, strips, etc // Race relations -- Comic books, strips, etc // Trials (Rape) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Girls -- Comic books, strips, etc // Southern States -- Comic books, strips, etc // Alabama -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Moby Dick
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Whaling ships -- Comic books, strips, etc // Ship captains -- Comic books, strips, etc // Mentally ill -- Comic books, strips, etc // Psychological fiction // Sea stories // Whaling -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Beowulf
by
Publication Date: 2016Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Beowulf, King of the Geats -- Comic books, strips, etc // Epic poetry, English (Old) -- Adaptations -
Studs Terkel's Working
by
Publication Date: 2009Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Working class -- United States -- Pictorial works // Working class -- United States -- Interviews // Working class -- United States -- Attitudes
Featured titles related to the Superhero genre:
-
Miles Morales: Shock Waves (Graphic Novel)
by
Publication Date: 2021Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Good and evil // Missing persons // Racially mixed youth // Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) -
Superman Smashes the Klan
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Teacher Resource Center/Curr
Included Subjects: Asian American teenagers // Identity // Historical Fiction // Immigrants // Justice // Superheroes // Social issue comics -
Naomi: Season One
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Ability // Adopted children // African American women // Family secrets // Superheroes // Teenage girls // Women superheroes -
Mister Miracle
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Mister Miracle (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction // Big Barda (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction // Darkseid (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction // Escape artists -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction -
X-Men: Grand Design
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Included Subjects: Superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc // Science fiction comic books, strips, etc // Mutation (Biology) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Good and evil -- Comic books, strips, etc // Imaginary wars and battles -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Kismet, Man of Fate. Vol. 1
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Black Panther: World of Wakanda
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Black Panther (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bodyguards -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women, Black -- Comic books, strips, etc // Kings and rulers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Royal houses -- Africa -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Black Panther Vol. 1
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Black Panther (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Kings and rulers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Insurgency -- Comic books, strips, etc // Blacks -- Comic books, strips, etc // Africa -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Black Volume 1
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc // African Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc -
DC Comics: Bombshells
by
Publication Date: 2016-2018Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Women superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc // World War, 1939-1945 -- Cartoons and comics -
Ms. Marvel Vol. 1
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Marvel, Ms. (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc // Muslim women -- Comic books, strips, etc // Pakistani Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc // Teenage girls -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Wonder Woman
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Wonder Woman (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Dark Knight Saga
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Batman (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Watchmen
by
Publication Date: 2014Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Superhero comic books, strips, etc // Mystery comic books, strips, etc -
X-Men: Magneto Testament
by
Publication Date: 2014Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: X-Men (Fictitious characters) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Jews -- Germany -- Comic books, strips, etc // Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Batwoman: Hydrology
by
Publication Date: 2012Location: Arne Nixon Center.
Included Subjects: Batwoman (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Batgirl
by
Publication Date: 2012-2015Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Batgirl (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Marvel 1602
by
Publication Date: 2012Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Seventeenth century -- Comic books, strips, etc // Great Britain -- History -- Tudors, 1485-1603 -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Secret Identities: The Asian American Superhero Anthology
by
Publication Date: 2012Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- United States // Asian Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc // Superhero comic books, strips, etc
Featured titles related to the SciFi and Fantasy genres:
-
Shubeik Lubeik
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Jinn -- Comic books, strips, etc // Diseases -- Comic books, strips, etc // Social history // Depression, Mental // Magic // Egypt -- Social conditions -- 21st century -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Home, Volume 1
by
Publication Date: 2021Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Immigrants -- United States // Guatemalans -- United States // Mexican-American Border Region // Guatémaltèques -- États-Unis // Familles immigrantes // United States Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement -
The Black Mage
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: African Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc // Schools -- Comic books, strips, etc // Magic -- Comic books, strips, etc // Wizards -- Comic books, strips, etc // Inclusive education -- Comic books, strips, etc // Race relations -- Comic books, strips, etc // Graphic novels -- United States -
Little Bird: The Fight for Elder's Hope
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Girls // Imaginary wars and battles // Insurgency -
Goddess Mode
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Women superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc // Artificial intelligence -- Comic books, strips, etc // Monsters -- Comic books, strips, etc // Imaginary wars and battles -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Alienation
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Virtual reality -- Comic books, strips, etc // Stripteasers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Artificial organs -- Comic books, strips, etc // Science fiction comic books, strips, etc -
LaGuardia: A Very Modern Story of Immigration
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Extraterrestrial beings -- Comic books, strips, etc // Emigration and immigration -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Die Volume 1: Fantasy Heartbreaker
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Middle-aged persons -- Comic books, strips, etc // Fantasy games -- Comic books, strips, etc // Best friends -- Comic books, strips, etc // Psychic trauma -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Bitter Root Volume 1: Family Business
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Harlem Renaissance -- Comic books, strips, etc // African American families -- Comic books, strips, etc // Monsters -- Comic books, strips, etc // Racism -- Comic books, strips, etc // Good and evil -- Comic books, strips, etc // Nineteen twenties -- Comic books, strips, etc // Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Farmhand Vol. 1: Reap What Was Sown
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Farm life -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transplantation of organs, tissues, etc -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Crowded Volume 1
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Crowd funding -- Comic books, strips, etc // Dystopias -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bodyguards -- Comic books, strips, etc // Attempted assassination -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Infidel
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Xenophobia -- Comic books, strips, etc // Haunted houses -- Comic books, strips, etc // Muslim women -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Victor Lavalle's Destroyer
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Frankenstein's Monster (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Race relations -- Comic books, strips, etc // Revenge -- Comic books, strips, etc // Mothers and sons -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Prism Stalker Volume 1
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Imaginary places -- Comic books, strips, etc // Interplanetary voyages -- Comic books, strips, etc // Psychic ability -- Comic books, strips, etc // Indentured servants -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Anthony Bourdain's Hungry Ghosts
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Cooks -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Abbott
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: African American women journalists -- Michigan -- Detroit -- Comic books, strips, etc // Murder -- Investigation -- Comic books, strips, etc // Criminal investigation -- Comic books, strips, etc // Detroit (Mich.) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
V for Vendetta 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Totalitarianism -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Ghost in the Shell
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Cyborgs -- Comic books, strips, etc // Hackers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cyber intelligence (Computer security) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cyberterrorism -- Comic books, strips, etc // Terrorism -- Prevention -- Comic books, strips, etc // Psychic ability -- Comic books, strips, etc // Undercover operations -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Akira. Part 1, Tetsuo
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Teenagers -- Japan -- Tokyo -- Comic books, strips, etc // Motorcycle gangs -- Japan -- Tokyo -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Monstress. Volume 1, Awakening
by
Publication Date: 2016Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Teenage girls -- Comic books, strips, etc // Psychic ability -- Comic books, strips, etc // Monsters -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asia -- 20th century -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Bitch Planet. Book One, Extraordinary Machine
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Women prisoners -- Comic books, strips, etc // Penal colonies -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Saga Book 1
by
Publication Date: 2014Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Families -- Comic books, strips, etc // Extraterrestrial beings -- Comic books, strips, etc // Parents of exceptional children -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Wake
by
Publication Date: 2014Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Monsters -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Uzumaki
by
Publication Date: 2013Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Spirals -- Comic books, strips, etc // Death -- Comic books, strips, etc // Japan -- Comic books, strips, etc
Featured titles related to the subject of science:
-
Hawking
by
Publication Date: 2019Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center, the Graphic Novel Collection, and the Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis -- Patients // People with disabilities // Physicists // Great Britain // Biographical comics -
The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 -- Travel -- South America -- Comic books, strips, etc // Scientists -- Germany -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Scientific expeditions -- South America -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Case of Alan Turing: The Extraordinary and Tragic Story of the Legendary Codebreaker
by
Publication Date: 2016Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Turing, Alan, 1912-1954 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Mathematicians -- Great Britain -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Cryptographers -- Great Britain -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gay men -- Great Britain -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Audubon: On the Wings of the World
by
Publication Date: 2016Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Audubon, John James, 1785-1851. Birds of America -- Comic books, strips, etc // Naturalists -- Cartoons and comics -
Climate Changed: A Personal Journey Through the Science
by
Publication Date: 2014Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Climatic changes -- Comic books, strips, etc // Human ecology -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Dignifying Science: Stories About Women Scientists
by
Publication Date: 2009Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Women scientists -- Comic books, strips, etc // Science -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Fallout: J. Robert Oppenheimer, Leo Szilard, and the Political Science of the Atomic Bomb
by
Publication Date: 2001Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Oppenheimer, J. Robert, 1904-1967 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Szilard, Leo -- Comic books, strips, etc // Manhattan Project (U.S.) -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc // Atomic bomb -- United States -- History -- Comic books, strips, etc
Featured titles that include Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans, Queer/Questioning, and more representation:
-
Until I Love Myself: The Journey of a Nonbinary Manga Artist
by
Publication Date: 2023Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Pesuyama, Poppy -- Comic books, strips, etc // Artists -- Japan -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender-nonconforming people -- Japan -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Self-esteem -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual harassment -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Until I Meet My Husband
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subject: Gay men -- Japan -- Comic books, strips, etc // Same-sex marriage -- Japan -- Comic books, strips, etc // Dating (Social customs) -- Japan -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Fine: A Comic About Gender
by
Publication Date: 2022Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sex role -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transgender people -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender-nonconforming people -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual minorities -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender identity // Sex role // Two-spirit people -
Coming Back
by
Publication Date: 2021Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Fantasy // Love // Magic // Lesbians -
The Magic Fish
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Vietnamese Americans // Parent and child // Fairy tales // Books and reading // Gay Asian Americans // Gay and lesbian youth // Identity (Psychology) // Coming out (Sexual orientation) -
Gender Queer: A Memoir
by
Publication Date: 2019Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center, the Graphic Novel Collection, and the Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Gender-nonconforming people -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asexual people -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual minority youth -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual minorities -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asexuality (Sexual orientation) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Coming out (Sexual orientation) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Cosmoknights (Book One)
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Teacher Resource Center/Curr
Included Subjects: Interpersonal relations // Government, Resistance to // Knights and knighthood // Lesbians // Life on other planets -
Death Threat
by
Publication Date: 2019Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Transphobia -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transgender people -- Crimes against -- Comic books, strips, etc // Hate mail -- Comic books, strips, etc // Anonymous letters -- Comic books, strips, etc -
On a Sunbeam
by
Publication Date: 2018Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center, the Graphic Novel Collection, and the Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Lesbians // Boarding schools // Non-binary people // Genderqueer people // Outer space -
We're Still Here
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Transgender people -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transsexuals -- Comic books, strips, etc // Medicine -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Moth and Whisper Vol. 1
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Thieves -- Comic books, strips, etc // Missing persons -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender-nonconforming youth -- Comic books, strips, etc // Teenagers -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Bingo Love
by
Publication Date: 2018Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Bingo -- Comic books, strips, etc // Grandmothers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lesbians -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles
by
Publication Date: 2018Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Un-American Activities -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gays -- Comic books, strips, etc // Communism -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Sunstone: Book One
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Lesbians -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual dominance and submission -- Comic books, strips, etc -
My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Lesbians -- Japan -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Loneliness -- Case studies -- Comic books, strips, etc // Single women -- Japan -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Self-actualization (Psychology) -- Case studies -- Comic books, strips, etc // Medicine -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Wuvable Oaf: Blood & Metal
by
Publication Date: 2016Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gay men -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bands (Music) -- Comic books, strips, etc // San Francisco (Calif.) -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Active Voice the Comic Collection: The Real Life Adventures of an Asian-American, Lesbian, Feminist, Activist and Her Friends
by
Publication Date: 2016Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Enos, P. Kristen -- Comic books, strips, etc // University of California, Irvine -- Students -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lesbian college students -- California -- Orange County -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asian American college students -- California -- Orange County -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gay college students -- California -- Orange County -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women political activists -- California -- Orange County -- Comic books, strips, etc -
The Less Than Epic Adventures of TJ and Amal
by
Publication Date: 2015Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gay men -- Comic books, strips, etc // Male friendship -- Comic books, strips, etc // Automobile travel -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc -
Snackies
by
Publication Date: 2014Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc
Books on Comics
Featured books on comics that have recently been added to the Library's collections:
-
Taiwan Comics: History, Status, and Manga Influx 1930s–1990s
by
Publication Date: 2024Included Subjects: History // Taiwan -
Christianity and Comics: Stories We Tell About Heaven and Hell
by
Publication Date: 2024Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- Religious aspects -- Christianity // Comic books, strips, etc -- Social aspects -- United States // Superheroes -- Religious aspects -- Christianity // Bible -- In comics -
Latin American Comics in the Twenty-First Century: Transgressing the Frame
by
Publication Date: 2024Included Subjects: Literature and transnationalism -- Latin America // Neoliberalism in comics // Pandemics in literature // Transgender people in art // Zombies in comics -
Corpse Crusaders: The Zombie in American Comics
by
Publication Date: 2024Included Subjects: Zombies in comics -
Show Me Where It Hurts: Manifesting Illness and Impairment in Graphic Pathography
by
Publication Date: 2024Included Subjects: Graphic medicine (Comic books) -- History and criticism -
Indigenous Comics and Graphic Novels: Studies in Genre
by
Publication Date: 2024Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- History and criticism // Indigenous peoples in literature -
Marvel Comics in the 1970s: The World Inside Your Head
by
Publication Date: 2023Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- History -- 20th century // Comic books, strips, etc -- History and criticism -
MCU: The Reign of Marvel Studios
by
Publication Date: 2024Included Subjects: Motion picture studios -- United States -- History // Superhero films // Science fiction films // Marvel Studios -- History -
Graphic Borders: Latino Comic Books Past, Present, and Future
by
Publication Date: 2016Included Subjects: American Studies // Criticism and interpretation // History // Language & Literature // Latin American Studies // Popular culture -
Panthers, Hulks and Ironhearts: Marvel, Diversity, and the Twenty-First-Century Superhero
by
Publication Date: 2021Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- History and criticism -
Good White Queers? Racism and Whiteness in Queer U.S. Comics
by
Publication Date: 2021Included Subjects: Queer comic books, strips, etc // Queer theory // Racism // White people -- Race identity -
Invisible Men: The Trailblazing Black Artists of Comic Books
by
Publication Date: 2020Location: Popular Reading Collection
Included Subjects: African American cartoonists -- History // Cartoonists -- United States -
Comics Beyond the Page in Latin America
by
Publication Date: 2020Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- Latin America -- History and criticism // Latin America
Featured books on the Superhero genre:
-
Uncanny Bodies: Superhero Comics and Disability
by
Publication Date: 2019Included Subjects: Graphic novels-History and criticism // LITERARY CRITICISM // Superheroes -
Make Ours Marvel: Media Convergence and a Comics Universe
by
Publication Date: 2017Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Marvel Comics Group // Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism // Storytelling in mass media // Motion pictures and comic books // Comic strip characters in motion pictures -
Wonder Woman: Bondage and Feminism in the Marston/Peter Comics, 1941-1948
by
Publication Date: 2015Included Subjects: Feminism in literature // Women in literature // Bondage (Sexual behavior) in literature -
Wonder Woman Unbound: The Curious History of the World's Most Famous Heroine
by
Publication Date: 2014Included Subjects: Wonder Woman (Fictitious character) // Women in literature // Gender identity in literature // Literature and society -- United States -
The Virtues of Captain America: Modern-Day Lessons on Character from a World War II Superhero
by
Publication Date: 2014Included Subjects: Captain America (Fictitious character) // Virtues in literature // Patriotism in literature // Superheroes in literature // Comic books, strips, etc -- History and criticism -
Superman and Philosophy: What Would the Man of Steel Do?
by
Publication Date: 2013Included Subjects: Superman (Fictitious character) // Philosophy in literature // Comic books, strips, etc -- Moral and ethical aspects -
Spider-Man and Philosophy: The Web of Inquiry
by
Publication Date: 2012Included Subjects: Spider-Man (Fictitious character) // Comic books, strips, etc -- Moral and ethical aspects // Superheroes in literature // Superhero films -- History and criticism // Philosophy in literature // Philosophy in motion pictures -
War, Politics and Superheroes: Ethics and Propaganda in Comics and Film
by
Publication Date: 2011"This critical text examines the seventy-year history of comic book superheroes on film and in comic books and their reflections of the politics of their time. Superheroes addressed include Batman, Wonder Woman, Spider-Man, Superman, the Invisible Woman and the X-Men, and topics covered include American wars, conflicts, and public policy."
Featured books on the research and/or critique of various identities represented in the comic book medium:
-
Comics and Memory in Latin America
by
Publication Date: 2017Included Subjects: National characteristics, Latin American, in literature // Comic books, strips, etc -- Latin America -- History and criticism // Collective memory in literature // Popular culture and literature -- Latin America -
Superwomen: Gender, Power, and Representation
by
Publication Date: 2016Included Subjects: Comic Book // Treatment of Gender // Heroine // Compared to Film // Dramatic Arts // Film // United States -
The Blacker the Ink: Constructions of Black Identity in Comics and Sequential Art
by
Publication Date: 2015Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- Social aspects -- United States // African Americans in literature // African American cartoonists -
X-Men and the Mutant Metaphor: Race and Gender in the Comic Books
by
Publication Date: 2014Included Subjects: Race in literature // Gender identity in literature -
The Quest for Jewish Belief and Identity in the Graphic Novel
by
Publication Date: 2014Included Subjects: Judaism and literature // Graphic novels -- Religious aspects // Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), in literature // Jewish literature -- History and criticism -
Black Comics: Politics of Race and Representation
by
Publication Date: 2013Includes Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- Social aspects -- United States // African American cartoonists // African Americans in popular culture // Race in literature -
Super Black: American Popular Culture and Black Superheroes
by
Publication Date: 2011Included Subjects: American Literature // Treatment of African American Superhero // Relationship to African American Identity // Sociopolitical Context // Compared to Film -
Multicultural Comics: From Zap to Blue Beetle
by
Publication Date: 2010Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- History and criticism // Multiculturalism in literature -
Graven Images:Religion in Comic Books and Graphic Novels
by
Publication Date: 2010Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- Religious aspects -
Native Americans in Comic Books: A Critical Study
by
Publication Date: 2008Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism // Indians in literature // Indians in art -
Black Superheroes, Milestone Comics, and Their Fans
by
Publication Date: 2001Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Included Subjects: Milestone Media Inc -- History // Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism // African Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc
Featured books on the history of the comic book medium:
-
The 10 Cent War: Comic Books, Propaganda, and World War II
by
Publication Date: 2016Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism // World War, 1939-1945 -- Literature and the war // National characteristics, American, in literature // Literature and society -- United States -- History -- 20th century -
Pioneering Cartoonists of Color
by
Publication Date: 2016Included Subjects: American Literature // By African American Cartoonists // Relationship to Historical Context -
God of Comics: Osamu Tezuka and the Creation of Post-World War II Manga
by
Publication Date: 2009Included Subjects: Tezuka, Osamu, 1928-1989 -- Criticism and interpretation // Comic books, strips, etc -- Japan -- History and criticism -
Secret Identity Crisis: Comic Books and the Unmasking of Cold War America
by
Publication Date: 2009Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- Social aspects -- United States // Comic books, strips, etc -- Political aspects -- United States // Cold War -- Influence -
Jackie Ormes: The First African American Woman Cartoonist
by
Publication Date: 2008Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Femmes artistes -- États-Unis -- Biographies // African American women cartoonists -- Biography -
The Ten-Cent Plague: The Great Comic-Book Scare and How It Changed America
by
Publication Date: 2008Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History -- 20th century // Comic books, strips, etc -- Social aspects -- United States -
Rebel Visions: Underground Comix Revolution, 1963-1975
by
Publication Date: 2002Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Underground comic books, strips, etc -- History and criticism // Cartoonists -- United States -- Biography // American wit and humor, Pictorial -- History and criticism // Erotic comic books, strips, etc -- History and criticism // Caricatures and cartoons -- United States -- History and criticism -
From Girls to Grrrlz: A History of [Women's] Comics from Teens to Zines
by
Publication Date: 1999Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism // Women -- Comic books, strips, etc // Girls in popular culture -- United States -
Seal of Approval: The History of the Comics Code
by
Publication Date: 1998Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism // Comic books and children -- United States // Censorship -- United States // Popular culture -- United States -
Comic Books As History: The Narrative of Jack Jackson, Art Spiegelman, and Harvey Pekar
by
Publication Date: 1989Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism // Popular culture -- United States -- History -- 20th century
