Communication Research Guide

Constitution Annotated via Library of Congress

Black's Law Dictionary  via Westaw
 

Law Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence 2d  via Westaw

Corpus Juris Secundum   via Westaw

Pro and Con

Supreme Court Debates via Academic Search Ultimate
"Published since 1997, Supreme Court Debates is an independent scholarly journal featuring controversies before the U.S. Supreme Court. Each issue covers a current prominent case, along with in-depth historical and legal background and excerpts from lawyers’ arguments before the Court. Each issue also lists cases expected to be considered by the High Court during the current term."

Supreme Court of the United States   (website)
 

Supreme Court of California (website)

Westlaw

Search the full text of case law, law review articles and other secondary sources; federal and state statutes and regulations; and other resources.

Search tips: 

• Using the main search box, you can enter a search and then limit it to Cases or Secondary Sources (then to Law Reviews and Journals, law encyclopedias, etc); OR 
• Below the main search box, you can first select Cases (and then jurisdiction) or Secondary Sources (then specific sources if desired), and then enter your search terms.
• Westlaw Training and Support

HeinOnline

Multidisciplinary periodicals (including law reviews), government publications international resources, case law, and much more.
Search tip:

• Capitalize Boolean operators  (AND  OR  NOT)

Collections:

     Law Journal Library
     "More than 3,000 law and law-related periodicals ... .
      Coverage for all journals is from inception ... through the most currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers."

     U.S. Supreme Court Library
     "Complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions,
      and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court. (Does not seem quite as current as Westlaw)

United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights- Article 19: Freedom of Expression

Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers.

Databases

Fuente Académica Plus
A full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals. Hundreds of quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain cover all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology and sociology.

PAIS Index [Proquest]
Citations and abstracts to articles in business and the social sciences. Emphasis on international coverage of public policy, government, international relations and current economic, political and social thought.

Worldwide Political Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. As well as journals, WPSA also indexes books, book chapters, reviews of books and other media, and dissertations.

Journals

Just a handful of the relevant journals we have at our library. When searching for journals by title, using key words like "communication" "expression" "human rights" and "global" or "international" can help guide your research!

Communication Law and Policy

Human Rights Quarterly

International Communication Research Journal

International Journal of Human Rights

NGOs 

Amnesty International: Freedom of Expression

International human rights organization based in the United Kingdom, Amnesty International documents cases of human rights violations, including the right to Freedom of Expression.

IFLA: Freedom of Access to Information and Freedom of Expression (FAIFE)

The International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions is an international body representing the interests of people who rely on libraries and information professionals. FAIFE raises awareness around the close link between librarianship and intellectual freedom.

Reporters Without Borders/Reporters sans frontières World Press Freedom Index

The World Press Freedom Index (WPFI) is an annual ranking of countries compiled and published by Reporters Without Borders (RSF) since 2002 based upon the organization's own assessment of the countries' press freedom records in the previous year.

UNESCO World Trends in Freedom of Expression and Media Development

The World Trends in Freedom of Expression and Media Development series analyses trends in media freedom, pluralism, independence, and the safety of journalists. The Global Report, published every four years since 2014, provides a macro-level perspective that informs UNESCO Member States, international organizations, civil society groups, academia, and individuals seeking to understand the changing global media landscape.