Ask a Librarian
Librarians are here to help, even if the library is closed.
Use our 24/7 Chat Service
Email Us
Contact your Subject Librarian
Official Announcements & Information
Please use the tabs above to view official announcements and information sources.
Fresno County
- Fresno County Department of Public Health COVID-19 page
- Fresno County COVID-19 Testing Sites
- Fresno County Superintendent of Schools Guidance for School Districts
- Fresno County Public Library COVID-19 - All Branches Closed Press Release (link to online resources still available)
- Fresno County COVID-19 Data and Surveillance Dashboard
COVID-19 Update from the Fresno County Department of Public Health - March 21, 2020
State of California
- COVID-19 Testing Sites in California
- Dedicated State Website: Coronavirus (COVID-19) in California
- California Department of Public Health (CDPH) Website on Coronavirus & updates
- Guidance Documents (Updated March 17)
- Latest COVID-19 Facts and Talking Points (March 18)
- COVID-19 Facts (March 17)
- Guidance to Prepare and Protect Homeless Californians and Service Providers from COVID-19
- State Clarifies Fuel Providers are Open for Business as Essential Services During COVID-19 Response (March 17)
- LAO Report: COVID-19 and California’s Evolving Fiscal Outlook (March 18)
- Visit California Coronavirus Update (March 19)
Governor’s Executive Orders & Directives
- Governor's Newsroom: Press Releases, Executive Orders, Media Advisories, Proclamations, and “On the Record” Column
- Executive Order on Actions in Response to COVID-19 (April 16)
- Executive Order on Division of Juvenile Justice Discharge and Reentry Process (April 14)
- Executive Order on Upcoming Elections (April 9)
- Executive Order to Expand Support for Vulnerable Populations (April 7)
- Executive Order to Provide Expanded Access to Child Care for Essential Workers During COVID-19 Response (April 4)
- Executive Order to Expand Telehealth Services (April 3)
- Emergency Action & Authorization of $150 Million in Funding to Protect Homeless Californians from COVID-19 (March 18)
- Executive Order to Protect Ongoing Safety Net Services for Most Vulnerable Californians During COVID-19 Outbreak (March 18)
- Executive Order to Allow Timely Delivery of Vital Goods During COVID-19 Outbreak (March 17)
- National Guard Personnel on Alert to Support COVID-19 Community Readiness (March 17)
- Executive Order to Protect Renters and Homeowners During COVID-19 Pandemic (March 16)
- California Issues Directive to Fight COVID-19 (March 16)
- Executive Order Ensuring State Funding for Schools Even in Event of Physical Closure (March 13)
California Department of Social Services
- Child Welfare and Probation Visitation
- CalWORKs, CalFresh, Housing and Homelessness Programs, Refugee Cash Assistance/Refugee Support Services
- Adult Protective Services Investigations and Home Visits
- In-Home Supportive Services Assessments
- Guidance for Employers, Health Care Workers and Workers in General Industry
- Guidance for Homeless Assistance Providers
- CDPH Guidance for Individuals with Access and Functional Needs
Employer Resources & Guidance
U.S. Government
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- CDC Website on Coronavirus
- Situation Summary
- Cases in the U.S.
- Resources for State, Local, Territorial & Tribal Health Departments
- Implementation of Mitigation Strategies for Communities with Local COVID-19 Transmission
- Resources for Emergency Health Professionals
- Steps on How to Get Your Home Ready
- Recommendations on Mass Gatherings (March 15, 2020)
- Centros para el Control y la Prevención de Enfermedades Recursos para COVID-19
Resources
Use the tabs above to navigate information and current research on COVID-19.
General Information Resources
-
Cochrane Special Collection - COVID-19 evidence relevant to critical careCochrane reviews most directly relevant to the management of people hospitalized with severe acute respiratory infections.
-
Mary Ann Liebert: Coronaviruses - Outbreak Preparedness and Response, Infection Control, and Public Health PolicyA select 10 articles freely available until March 31, 2020
Pre-prints are evidence-based article manuscripts that have not yet undergone peer review.
They include the most current research available.
Outbreak Science - PreReview Articles
Article manuscripts regarding outbreaks, and that are undergoing peer review.
Centre for Mathematical Modeling and Infectious Diseases - COVID-19
Multiple members of CMMID are working on the ongoing Covid-19 (previously referred to as novel coronavirus or nCov) outbreak caused by the SARS-CoV-2 virus. This page shows an overview of our work. We regularly update this page with new and updated work. Works have not yet been peer-reviewed.
ScienceOpen - Novel Coronavirus Disease
This is a collection of research on the coronavirus disease COVID-2019. It is updated automatically for the terms COVID-2019, SARS-CoV-2, 2019-nCoV. Caution: articles flagged as "preprint" have not yet undergone peer review.
(Content adapted from a guide created by Portland State University Library under a CC BY 4.0 license)
Published Research
Proquest - Coronavirus Research Database
A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak. Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
LitCovid - NCBI 
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 1200 (and growing) research articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
This resource is the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience. NLM selects materials from over 1,400 non-commercial publishing sources and supplements disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public).
BioOne - COVID-19
Free access to BioOne Journal articles related to the coronavirus.
COVID-19 Resource Centre - The Lancet
Free access to coronavirus information from The Lancet.
JAMA Network - COVID-19
Information from the Journal of the American Medical Association.
Novel Coronavirus Information Center - Elsevier
Elsevier’s free health and medical research on novel coronavirus (COVID-19)
Springer Nature - Coronavirus
Free access to articles in Springer and Nature journals related to coronavirus.
Wiley Online Library - Novel Coronavirus
Free access to articles and books chapters regarding coronavirus from the publisher Wiley.
(Content adapted from a guide created by Portland State University Library under a CC BY 4.0 license)
News Sources
-
Coronavirus Coverage, NPR National Public Radio coverage
-
Coronavirus Coverage, The Guardian News from an award-winning British newspaper with significant U.S. coverage.
-
Coronavirus Coverage, BBC News from the respected British Broadcasting Company.
-
Coronavirus Coverage, New York Times Award-winning journalism; center-left editorial perspective.
-
Nature News Nature is a journal that covers primary research and news events such as COVID-19.
- Free Coronavirus Coverage from the New Yorker a weekly well-written and edited magazine of culture.
- C-SPAN Video Library: Coronavirus Coverage (Hearings, News Conferences, Interviews, and More)
- Library Journal's 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources Links to a wide range of information re: the Novel Coronavirus. Includes links to everything from background information, to articles specifically about the coronavirus and business, China, misinformation, scientific journal articles, legal issues, and maps.
Situation Reports and Updates (Updated Daily)
- Daily Briefing on Novel Coronavirus Cases In China (via National Health Commission of the PRC)
- Daily Scan of Selected Public Health Organizations – Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV) (Health Ontario)
- Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center
- KFF: COVID-19 Coronavirus Tracker Situation Dashboard
- Situation Reports (via WHO)
- Situation Reports (via Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security)
(Content adapted from a guide created by Willamette University Library and Library Journal's list of information resources.)
Search Strategies
Before this disease was officially named, it had been referred to by several names. You will need to use different search terms when looking for different types of information sources.
Scholarly sources, use these terms:
- COVID-19
- SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes the Novel Coronavirus disease)
- 2019-N-COV (scientific abbreviation for 2019 Novel Coronavirus)
- Pandemic or Epidemic
News sources, use these terms:
- Novel coronavirus
- Wuhan coronavirus
- COVID-19
- Pandemic or Epidemic