There are various ways you can utilize audio-visual (sound and video) tools in sociological research. Interviews are a common part of the qualitative research process and oral histories are excellent primary sources.
What is Oral History?
From the Oral History Association:
Oral history is a field of study and a method of gathering, preserving and interpreting the voices and memories of people, communities, and participants in past events. Oral history is both the oldest type of historical inquiry, predating the written word, and one of the most modern, initiated with tape recorders in the 1940s and now using 21st-century digital technologies.
Where can I record for my project?
The Music and Media Resource Center can be found on the third floor, North Wing of the Fresno State Library. Not only do they have music and video for checkout, they also provide:
You can also use recording space for other projects, such as a podcast. If you're interested in incorporating audio-visual media into your project, please contact one of the librarians listed on their homepage.
Archival collections are a wealth of first-hand accounts. They can provide personal sentiments at the time, demographic information, and more. For those who are interested in trends over time, they may find the Special Collections and Research Center (SCRC) especially useful.
Located on the 4th floor, South Wing, the SCRC is comprised of several specialized book collections, manuscript collections, and the University Archives. Anyone is welcome to use the collections, but all materials must be viewed in the Woodward Family Reading Room.
For more information on collections and access:
A newly-launched initiative to uplift and center the knowledge, stories, and deep wisdom of communities in Fresno and the Central Valley.
Cross Cultural and Gender Center
A great place to meet new people and find a sense of belonging on campus.
College of Social Science Advising Center
Advising for students in the social sciences (Sociology, Anthropology, etc.)
Fresno State Programs for Children
For students with children, Fresno State has three centers that provide services to the children of the California State University, Fresno student body and to a limited extent, faculty, staff, and the larger community. Children between the ages of 3 months and 12 years are eligible.
Services for Students with Disabilities
A resource for students with disabilities to achieve academic, cultural and social excellence.
Student Health and Counseling Center
Provides a variety of services to Fresno State students including that are free or very low cost
Run by students, they provide a space for students who are passionate about their field. They're resources for "et involved in research, career advancement, and social change."
Offers one-on-one tutoring as well as writing groups