American Library Association Office of Intellectual Freedom
The Office of Intellectual Freedom manages information regarding banned/challenged books from libraries in the United States. Included in these webpages are lists of banned books, infographics, datasets, and other important information regarding banned/challenged books.
National Council of Teachers of English Intellectual Freedom Center
Information gathered by NCTE regarding challenged/banned books in schools, including the Students' Right to Read and other position documents and data.
National Coalition Against Censorship - Kids' Right to Read Project
Offers support, education, and direct advocacy to people facing book challenges or bans in schools and libraries and engages local activists in promoting the freedom to read.
National Coalition Against Censorship - Defend LGBTQ Stories
Offers an overview of common arguments made by would-be censors and techniques for advocating for LGBTQ stories in your schools and communities.
Freedom to write organization involved in book bans and educational censorship. This site includes the 2022 report Banned in the USA.
Below are some helpful websites about banned/challenged books:
National Coalition Against Censorship Youth Censorship Database
A database of K-12 student censorship incidents includes book challenges in schools and libraries, as well as censorship of student art, journalism, and other types of student expression in schools.
EveryLibrary Legislation Tracker
EveryLibrary has identified numerous states where bills have been introduced that would restrict teaching about race and sex, censor school library collections, or limit access to educational databases.
A national initiative to empower readers everywhere to stand together in the fight against censorship. The site includes aggregate information from the American Library Association's Office of Intellectual Freedom, a toolkit to help fight censorship with activism.
Non-profit organization dedicated to the protection of the First Amendment rights of the comics art form and its community of retailers, creators, publishers, librarians, and readers. The CBLDF provides legal referrals, representation, advice, assistance, and education in furtherance of these goals.
We Need Diverse Books - Google Form to Collect Soft Censorship
WNDB is gathering these stories to better understand where this censorship is happening and which books are getting targeted. This will help us create programming to best support teachers, librarians, and the educators affected.
Committed to highlighting the positive work of librarians, to speak up in support of authors and students, and to provide professional resources for librarians, teachers or authors facing book challenges.
The official site of Banned Books Week, which occurs every September. Site contains information on banned books and events related to Banned Books Week.
Freely Available Online:
How Book Bans and Classroom Efforts Impact LGBTQ+ Authors, Educators and Students
Panel conversation presented by the American Civil Liberties Union, the Hatchette Book Group, Lambda Literary, and We Need Diverse Books.
National Hispanic Media Coalition: Banned Books
Panel conversation about banned books featuring speakers from the American Library Association, National Coalition Against Censorship, and PEN America.
Panel discussion about comic books and book banning featuring authors Jerry Craft and Phoebe Gloeckner.
Panel discussion hosted by the San Francisco Public Library and featuring Dr. Tammi Arford, Kurtis Tanaka, and Hari Gopal.
These resources may require Fresno State ID and password to access as they are subscription resources.
The leading magazine for reviews and other articles for school librarians, media specialists, and public librarians who work with young people
Journal of Research on Libraries and Young Adults
Peer-reviewed journal that publishes research concerning the informational and developmental needs of young adults; the management, implementation, and evaluation of library services for young adults; and other critical issues relevant to librarians who work with young adults.
Non-peer reviewed, professional journal for librarians who work with young people.
Refereed journal of the Association for Library Service to Children that showcases current scholarly research and practice in library service to children.
Peer-reviewed (refereed) journal that devoted solely to the field of literature for young adults.
Children's Literature Review covers authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults from around the world. This resource provides biographical information and insights along with scholarly essays, reviews and other critical responses. Note: This resource links at the database level. To search only Children's Literature Review, select it from the "Your Library's Databases".
An excellent starting point for any topic, Academic Search Ultimate contains over 13,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Full-text, peer-reviewed articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals covering key subject areas.
