Indexes to Journal Articles (and Beyond)
Ways to Find Journal Articles
1. Use Library Databases
The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles
♦ Multidisciplinary databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate and Web of Science Core Collection
These index articles in scholarly journals as well as other types of publications.
You can limit your search results to only journal articles.
♦ Discipline-specific databases, such as CAB Abstracts, CINAHL, FSTA, Education Research Complete,
PubMed, BIOSIS, and SciFinder-n, take broader views of scholarly/professional literature
and also index publications types such as dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings,
and technical reports.
Most of these databases will allow you to limit your search results to only scholarly journals.
2. Use Google Scholar
♦ Find a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.
♦ Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals, so pay attention to what you have retrieved.
3. Follow the Citation Paths from a Known Item
♦ Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from a publication's works cited section.
♦ Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item.
Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references
(the ones they see in their own universes) so you can identify more recent articles that cited the one you like.
Academic Search Ultimate
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
• Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate Analytics)
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
GeoRef [EBSCO]
Comprehensive geoscience database indexing journal articles, books, government reports, and other sources.
linking does not work well from GeoRef for theses & dissertations, books, and government reports (such as USGS Professional Papers). Search the title in OneSearch for books and reports; use the Theses & Dissertations tab on this guide to search for those titles.
GeoRef in Process (supplement to GeoRef, with records not yet fully processed)
GreenFile [EBSCO]
Indexes a variety of publication types, including academic journals, focused on aspects of human impact on the environment.
CAB Abstracts [EBSCO]
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
BIOSIS Citation Index [Web of Science interface/Clarivate Analytics]
Biological and medical literature, including paleontology, etc.. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Zoological Record [Web of Science interface/Clarivate Analytics]
Zoological and animal science literature, including paleontology, extinctions, etc.
Related:
SciFinder-n (chemistry & related sciences)
To use SciFinder-n you must first create an account using this link
Introduction to SciFinder-n
More EES/Geology Databases
Databases by Subject Area (Click on the "Subjects" drop-down box)
Databases A-Z List
Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links)
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Also includes patents.
How do I get the article without paying?
If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.
If the Find It @ Fresno State link does not appear, click on the 
double arrow on the end of the last row of the reference entry
Is it an article or something else?
Note the type of content you can find via Google Scholar. Library's FAQ What is this citation for ... ? if you don't know if it is a citation to a book, article, or book chapter.