Contact a librarian by chat, email, phone (559-278-2174), or in person during the library hours, or visit the Library FAQs to find quick answers to commonly asked questions.
COUNTRY PROFILES
Gale Business: Insights (database) - Country comparison charts, data on global companies, and industry reports.
Business Source Ultimate (database) - In-depth country reports covering economic, investment, political, social, and environmental overviews with country risk analysis.
CIA World Factbook - Information on economy, geography, people, society, government, military, and transnational issues for over 250 world entities.
Economist: Country Reports - Country profiles covering political, economic, risk, regulatory, business, and industry analysis. Some content is free.
globalEDGE: Country Insights - Created by Michigan State University, globalEDGE provides collections of international business and trade information, research tools and data, internship directory, and other helpful resources for further information.
Institute for Economics & Peace (IEP): Global Peace Index - The IEP's Global Peace Index is a measure of global peacefulness, ranking independent states and territories based on their levels of peace. This report offers a comprehensive data-driven analysis on peace trends, its economic implications, and strategies for fostering peaceful societies.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
Mergent Online (database) - Detailed country profiles with a focus on business and trade information. Updated annually.
ProQuest: U.S. Newsstream and Global Newsstream (both databases) - Latest articles from major newspapers and other news sources.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Database (IDB) - Population estimates and projections.
U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID): Mission Directory
U.S. Department of State: Countries and Areas & Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets - Background information on countries and links to other sources of country information
University of Michigan Library: International Studies Research Guides
World Bank: Countries & Economies
BUSINESS CUSTOMS, CULTURE & ETIQUETTE
Passport to the World: Your Pocket Guide to Business, Customs & Etiquette - This book/ebook series introduces to the business manners and customs across various countries and regions around the world. Each volume focuses on a specific country, providing valuable insights into the cultural norms and etiquette that can help facilitate successful interactions in diverse business environments.
Commisceo Global: Country and Culture Guides - Country guides to culture, people, beliefs, etiquette, and business practices.
Culture Crossing Guide - Community-built country guides to culture, etiquette, and understanding.
International Business Etiquette, Manners & Culture - Information and resources on international business etiquette and manners.
Passport to Trade - Business culture and etiquette in EU countries.
World Culture Encyclopedia - Country background and general cultural information.
Government of Canada: Spotlights on Intercultural Business - A general (not country-specific) guide to dealing successfully with different cultures in business.
Business Source Ultimate (database) - In-depth reports on country economic and investment outlooks, such as IHS Global's County Monitor and Country Intelligence and MarketLine's Country Profile.
To find these, search for your country name as a GE Geographic Term, and then on the left under Limit to: Source Type, select Country Reports. Other Source Types to select are Market Research Reports, Industry Reports, and SWOT Analyses.
U.S. International Trade Administration
Deloitte International Tax Guides & Highlights - Highlights give brief overview of taxation. Some countries also have longer Guides with sections on setting up a business, investment climate,, labor, and more discussion of taxation than the Highlights.
Worldwide Tax Summaries Online - Corporate and individual taxes in 151 territories worldwide.
UHY Doing Business Guides - These reports cover business environment, foreign investment, setting up a business, labor, taxation, and accounting & reporting.
Political Risk Yearbook: Country Reports - Forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. (Links to a list of country reports in the Business Source Premier/Ultimate databases)
Country Risk Information AM Best Rating Services - "the risk that country-specific factors could adversely affect an insurer's ability to meet its financial obligations."
U.S. Department of State: Investment Climate Statements - Country-specific information and assessments prepared by U.S. embassies and diplomatic missions abroad on investment laws and practices in those countries. (These are also included as Chapter 6 in the Country Commercial Guides.)
Index of Economic Freedom Heritage Foundation - "We measure economic freedom based on 12 quantitative and qualitative factors, grouped into four broad categories, or pillars, of economic freedom: Rule of Law (property rights, government integrity, judicial effectiveness); Government Size (government spending, tax burden, fiscal health); Regulatory Efficiency (business freedom, labor freedom, monetary freedom);Open Markets (trade freedom, investment freedom, financial freedom)."
World Bank Group