Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fashion Merchandising Research Guide

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Research Guide!

This guide was created to help you with research in business and economics. I hope that you will find the information here useful. Check out the tabs in the left column to locate the information you need, or contact me if you don't find what you are looking for.

Hiromi Kubo
Business & Economics Librarian
California State University, Fresno
hkubo@csufresno.edu

Library Business & Economics Research Workshops - Spring 2021

BUSINESS WEDNESDAYS
Library Business and Economics Research Workshops
12:00 - 1:00 P.M. on Zoom

Learn more about the most valuable resources for business and economics student researchers.
Each session includes a brief overview of the research process and tools, and ample time to do your own guided searching.

FEBRUARY 10   INVESTMENT Research: StockTrak Challenge (REGISTER HERE)

Research techniques for new investors
Learn how to find financial data on companies and make the right decisions on what to buy, when to buy, and when to sell!  Professor K.C. Chen (Chair of the Finance Department) will show you how to search for investment ideas with a focus on the StockTrak Challenge. A Q&A session to follow the presentation.

***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR STOCKTRACK CHALLENGE COMPETITORS

FEBRUARY 17   INVESTMENT Research: Technical Analysis (REGISTER HERE)

Advanced research techniques for investors
Professor Chen (Chair of the Finance Department) will demonstrate how to perform technical analysis of price and volume data. A Q&A session to follow the presentation.

***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR STOCKTRACK CHALLENGE COMPETITORS & INVESTORS

FEBRUARY 24   COMPANY & INDUSTRY Research (REGISTER HERE)

Find the latest information on major companies and industries
The Madden Library has some excellent databases to help you find detailed, up-to-date information and statistical data on industries and companies. Learn how to take advantage of these valuable tools.

***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR ALL BUSINESS STUDENTS

MARCH 3   CONSUMER Research (REGISTER HERE)

Learn ways to find demographic and psychographic information about today’s consumers
Knowing your market is critical to the success of any business. The Library’s Business Team will show you how to identify and analyze your customers.

***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR ENTREPRENEURS & MARKETING MAJORS

MARCH 10  INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS Research (REGISTER HERE)

Discover the best resources to help you take your ideas around the globe
Not sure where to look up information about companies abroad, industry trends, or country profiles? The Library’s Business Team will show you essential resources and tips for successful research in international business.

***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS MAJORS

MARCH 17   ECONOMIC DATA Research (REGISTER HERE)

Up-to-date information and data on the current U.S. economy
Looking for ways to quickly find current and historical economic data, up-to-date information, and essential articles? Join this workshop and learn how to find what you need from various reliable resources.

***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR ECONOMICS MAJORS

New & Popular Titles

We are pleased to announce that the Madden Library now subscribes to the following databases/resources:

PrivCo (Database)

PrivCo offers detailed data on US-based, non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, and venture-backed companies. Its advanced search capacity allows users to conduct in-depth company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, and private equity research.

Business Source Ultimate (Database) - As an upgrade of the Business Source Complete database, Business Source Ultimate offers more comprehensive full-text access of journals published in business disciplines, including management, marketing, finance, accounting, and economics.

Mergent Intellect (Database)

Mergent Intellect provides information about more than 310 million businesses globally (including 70 million in the U.S.), 90 million executives, 900 industry segments, and over 250 North American residents. Unlike many other business databases that primarily focus on public companies, Mergent Intellect focuses more on private companies. Company profiles include basic company details (e.g., address, industry, number of employees), industry details, information about key executives, and a list of companies that are affiliated.

Gale's Business Plans Handbook series (Vol. 13 to the most current volume available via Gale eBooks)

Gale's Business Plans Handbooks offer actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Sample plans are from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries, which serve as examples of how to approach, structure, and compose business plans.

Earlier volumes are also available either online or in print:

Business Plans Handbook, vol.12 (in print)
Business Plans Handbook, vol. 1-11 (online)

Library Services

Find Library Materials

Search books, journals, and other library materials from the main search box on the library home page. Write down or take a photo of the call number (e.g., HG1616 B7 L86) and location (e.g., Lower Level, Reference, etc.) to find the item on the shelf. 

Need a Textbook? Check if your professor reserved course materials on reserve at the Circulation Desk.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services

Request books and other library materials not owned by the Madden Library through CSU+ and ILLiad to obtain them from other CSU libraries or libraries statewide, nationally, and internationally.  

Online Library Tutorials

Library tutorials are available in Canvas and give an overview of library services as well as how to search the online catalog and electronic databases.

Tech Lending

Library equipment such as laptops, iPads/tablets, flip video cameras, and headphones is available for checkout.

 Group/Individual Study Rooms

Reserve a study room located on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the Library. Contact Circulation Desk at (559) 278-2551 for more information.

Assignment Research Calculator

Use the Assignment Research Calculator to help with time management, research, writing, and citing sources. It will take you step-by-step through the process of researching and writing a paper, and it can send you email reminders along the way!  

Printing, Copying & Scanning on Campus

Pay for Print System allows Fresno State students, employees, and guests to print from anywhere on-campus, even from your own computer using our wireless network.

Need Help? Ask!

Research assistance is available in person at the Research Here Desk on the 1st floor, by phone, email, or chat during the library hours.