Music 260T: Seminar in Ethnomusicology - Dr. Partow Hooshmandrad

The internet is full of information resources that don't fit the categories covered elsewhere in this guide, including podcasts, blogs, Twitter feeds, YouTube channels, or websites of scholarly societies, museums, or other organizations. Here are a few examples, please feel free to suggest your own!

• International Council for Traditional Music (ICTM)
  Web site for this scholarly organization with documents and publications.

• American Folklife Center
  Research center at the Library of Congress, with publications, audio recordings, events, and more.

• Smithsonian Institution
  A large cultural heritage organization with many online collections, including music.

• Black Music History Library
  Books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day.

• Virtual Instrument Museum
  A YouTube playlist from Wesleyan University with videos demonstrating musical instruments from around the world.

• Atlas of Plucked Instruments
  An encyclopedia of instruments of lute, guitar, banjo and mandolin types, based on a large private collection. Many entries include YouTube videos.

• Benjamin A. Botkin Folklife Lecture Series
  A series of lectures on folklore, folklife, ethnomusicology, and related fields, from the Library of Congress.

• Conversations in Ethnomusicology and World Music
  YouTube channel of the Society for Ethnomusicology.

• Podcasts and Audio Programs
  Many podcast series from the Society for Ethnomusicology.

• Jon Silpayamanant - cellist, composer, multi-instrumentalist
  Blog that includes many entries related to ethnomusicology, including projects on Black musicians, anti-colonial orchestras, and Arabic music theory.

• Creadoras de la Historia de la Música
  Interactive map of women composers around the globe, present and historical.

• Boulanger Initiative
  This organization that advocates for women composers provides links to resources on women, Black women, and LGBTQIA+ composers.

• Institute for Composer Diversity
  Provides searchable databases of composers from underrepresented groups and their works.

• Switched On Pop
  A podcast about the making and meaning of popular music.

Video: Other online resources