Indexes to Journal Articles (and Beyond)
Ways to Find Journal Articles
1. Use Library Databases
The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles
♦ Multidisciplinary databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate and Web of Science Core Collection
These index articles in scholarly journals as well as other types of publications.
You can limit your search results to only journal articles.
♦ Discipline-specific databases, such as CAB Abstracts, CINAHL, FSTA, Education Research Complete,
PubMed, BIOSIS, and SciFinder-n, take broader views of scholarly/professional literature
and also index publications types such as dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings,
and technical reports.
Most of these databases will allow you to limit your search results to only scholarly journals.
2. Use Google Scholar
♦ Find a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.
♦ Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals, so pay attention to what you have retrieved.
3. Follow the Citation Paths from a Known Item
♦ Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from a publication's works cited section.
♦ Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item.
Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references
(the ones they see in their own universes) so you can identify more recent articles that cited the one you like.
CAB Abstracts [Ebsco]
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
• Limit your search results to academic journals
Agricola [Ebsco]
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and books, but include other type of resources.
• Limit your search results to academic journalss
BIOSIS Citation Index [Web of Science/Clarivate Analytics]
Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological and medical literature. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
MEDLINE Web of Science/Clarivate Analytics interface to the National Library of Medicine's biomedical literature database
PubMed (this is the Library's link to PubMed)
U.S. National Library of Medicine database with citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
• Includes links to open-access full text articles and other related resources.
• Going to PubMed via Fresno State Library gives you access to more resources via 
Zoological Record [Web of Science/Clarivate Analytics]
Zoological and animal science literature, from biochemistry to veterinary medicine.
NAL SEARCH - National Agricultural Library
All aspects of agriculture and related disciplines, SEARCH Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC), or limit your search to specific collections.
♦ NAL SEARCH is not linked to what is available via Fresno State Library.
If the item isn't Open Access, search for it by title in OneSearch
SciFinder-n
The most comprehensive discovery tool for chemistry and related sciences.
To use SciFinder-n, you must first create an account using this link.
♦ Introduction to SciFinder-n
♦ Export multiple references into Zotero
More Databases
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Get a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. Biosis Citation Index combines critical life sciences research with powerful citation indexing.
- CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to Fresno State students, faculty, and staff. To use SciFinder , you must first create an account using this link. Use your campus email address (userid@mail.fresnostate.edu) when you sign up. CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
*Some features in this database don't work in Chrome. We recommend you use Safari or Firefox*. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics vital to biomedical practitioners, educators, and researchers, such as bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, marine biology, and preclinical sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Excellent source for neuroscience and clinical topics.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes current and back issues of Springer/Verlag & Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science contains records of articles from the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals— conference proceedings and books. Coverage of some titles date back to 1900. Web of Science also has a Cited References search to find sources that have cited a published work. Web of Science consists of BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record. While these collections can be searched separately, Web of Science offers offers a single interface to search across all the collections simultaneously.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
*Some features in this database don't work in Chrome. We recommend you use Safari or Firefox*. Zoological Record provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. Bibliographic content consists of approximately 5,000 journals from over 100 countries as well as books, reviews, conferences, and other non-serial publications.
GeoRef [EBSCO]
Comprehensive geoscience database indexing journal articles, books, government reports, and other sources.
linking does not work well from GeoRef for theses & dissertations, books, and government reports (such as USGS Professional Papers). Search the title in OneSearch for books and reports; use the Theses & Dissertations tab on this guide to search for those titles.
GreenFile [EBSCO]
Indexes a variety of publication types, including academic journals, focused on aspects of human impact on the environment.
CAB Abstracts [EBSCO]
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
• Limit your search results to academic journals
More EES/Geology Databases
PsycINFO [EBSCO]
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology.
and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
• Limit your search results to Peer-Reviewed Journals
• Limit your search results by Methodology (e.g. Empirical study)
• You can also limit to specific Age groups and by Gender
More Psychology Databases
Academic Search Ultimate
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
• Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate Analytics)
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
Databases by Subject Area (Click on the "Subjects" drop-down box)
Databases A-Z List
Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links)
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Also includes patents.
How do I get the article without paying?
If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.
If the Find It @ Fresno State link does not appear, click on the 
double arrow on the end of the last row of the reference entry
Is it an article or something else?
Note the type of content you can find via Google Scholar. Library's FAQ What is this citation for ... ? if you don't know if it is a citation to a book, article, or book chapter.