Overviews and Background Information
National Agricultural Law Center
- National Agricultural Law CenterResearch by Topic such as Food Labeling, Food Safety, and Pesticides.
Includes links to major statutes, regulations, cases, and Congressional Research Service reports related to food, farms, and agriculture.
Congressional Research Service Reports
U.S. Government Accountability Office
The U.S. GAO oversees how tax dollars are spent, including overseeing levels of regulation and policy enforcement.
FDA Law Blog
- The FDA Law Blog, from Hyman, Phelps & McNamara, P.C..Has an FDA Legislation Tracker: get the names and numbers of current bills.
National Conference of State Legislatures
- National Conference of State LegislaturesThe NCSL is an organization of state legislatures that examines how federal policy impacts states.
For instance: Food Safety brief, FDA Food Code Updates, and Food labeling laws + food waste
International Review
- Review of the regulation and safety assessment of food substances in various countries and jurisdictionsMagnuson, B., Munro, I., Abbot, P., Baldwin, N., Lopez-Garcia, R., Ly, K., … Socolovsky, S. (2013). Review of the regulation and safety assessment of food substances in various countries and jurisdictions. Food Additives & Contaminants: Part A, 30(7), 1147–1220. https://doi.org/10.1080/19440049.2013.795293
The A-Z Encyclopedia of Food Controversies and the Law by ISBN: 9780313364488Publication Date: 2010-12-22
Features
• Alphabetically arranged entries describe topics related to the intersection of law and food
• An appendix offers examples of legislation, court cases, regulations, and international treaties related to food
• A timeline shows the development of the law of food in the United States
• A bibliography lists additional materials for reference
Highlights
• Outlines the legal system and how it affects food and food policy
• Covers both U.S. and international legal influences on the food Americans eat
• Looks at lawsuits related to food, such as suits to ban soft drinks from schools and the question of whether an individual can sue a food manufacturer or restaurant for making them fat
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues (online) by Call Number: also in the Library 1st Floor - Reference TX349 .S237 2015ISBN: 9781483346298Publication Date: 2015
From the publisher: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism. In contrast to the existing reference works on the topic of food that tend to fall into the categories of cultural perspectives, this carefully balanced academic encyclopedia focuses on social and policy aspects of food production, safety, regulation, labeling, marketing, distribution, and consumption. A sampling of general topic areas covered includes Agriculture, Labor, Food Processing, Marketing and Advertising, Trade and Distribution, Retail and Shopping, Consumption, Food Ideologies, Food in Popular Media, Food Safety, Environment, Health, Government Policy, and Hunger and Poverty. This encyclopedia introduces students to the fascinating, and at times contentious, and ever-so-vital field involving food issues.
From the publisher: Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face.
- News DatabasesList of newspaper databases from Fresno State Library, including the New York Times, The L.A. Times, and The Fresno Bee