LibGuides: Education Research: ASAM15-01 Jenny Banh, Ph.D.

Assignment

2 Page 10 Source: Literature Review Assignment:

SE Asian American College Graduation Rates: Barriers and Bridges

Hmong, Filipino, Vietnamese, Laotian/Mein, Indian, Cambodian, Korean, Chinese, Thai, Japanese

Students must cite 10 pieces of books, articles or US Educational Statistics to find the:

a) High school graduation of the specific Asian American group assigned

b) College Graduation Rate

c) Barrier to their graduation [Ie. deportation, English ability, Gangs, refugee, domestic violence, mental illness, what is giving them difficulty?]

d) Bridges to their graduation [i.e. Many Asian Ph.D.'s, community support, mentor, why are they succeeding?]

Must Cite in: CHICAGO MANUAL OF STYLE- 16 edition

All text must be SINGLE-spaced and with Times New Roman font size 12 on 8.5 x 11 inch white paper. Text should be left justified with all margins at least 1 inch

High School and College Graduation Rates

Data.census.gov
Use this tool to look up high school and college attendance rates. Start by searching for "S0201: Selected Population Profile in the United States". If prompted, select the link under tables. Next, click the button that says customize table. Then click on Topics>Race & Ethnicity>Asian>Detailed Asian Alone. The next step is selecting your Asian sub-group, then close the menu.
Status and Trends in the Education of Racial and Ethnic Groups 2017
NCES report on graduation rates of selected racial and ethnic groups. Great source for characteristics.
The Condition of Education 2019
The Condition of Education is a congressionally mandated annual report summarizing important developments and trends in education using the latest available data. The 2019 Condition of Education report presents 50 indicators on topics ranging from prekindergarten through postsecondary education, as well as labor force outcomes and international comparisons. Also included in the report are 4 Spotlight indicators that provide more in-depth analyses on selected topics.
The State of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Education in California
CSU report from 2008 on the state of Asian subgroups from within the state.
Digest of Education Statistical Tables
Chapter 3 is general trends related to your topics, with Asian as a broadly grouped category.

Barriers & Bridges to Graduation: Articles, Books, etc.

AnthroSource
AnthroSource is a fully integrated information resource. Its powerful search engine makes precision research quick and easy. AnthroSource is more than a content collection. It is an evolving, interactive repository of research and communications tools designed to bring the most credible and relevant of anthropological scholarship together in one place and to support a strong community of scholars, teachers, and students in the field.
Anthropology Plus
Indexes over 5,500 journals. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature. Coverage: 19th century to the present. Access restricted to 10 CSU simultaneous users.
Academic Search Ultimate
An excellent starting point for any topic, Academic Search contains over 13,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. Content covers all subject areas, with material from 1887-present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Education Research Complete

Your Librarian

Vang Vang

email vangv@csufresno.edu
phone 559 278-3037
office Library 1130

Office hours by appointment