LibGuides: Education Research: Datasets

Datasets

California Department of Education Downloadable Data
Data files from a variety of California Department of Education data collections are available to educators, researchers, and the public.
National Center for Education Statistics Common Core of Data
The Common Core of Data (CCD) is the Department of Education's primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States.
Ed Data Inventory
The goal of the ED Data Inventory is to describe all data reported to the Department of Education, with the exception of personnel and administrative data.
Pew Research Center Downloadable Datasets
Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.

NCES Selected Datasets

National Assessment of Adult Literacy
Nationally-representative assessment of the literacy skills of adults in English, on-going since 1992.
National Assessment of Educational Progress
Nationally-representative assessment of US students' skills in art, civics, geography, history, math, reading, science, and writing, on-going since 1969. Not longitudinal at the individual student level.
Early Childhood Longitudinal Study
Nationally-representative longitudinal data on the development and early school experiences for two cohorts of children. The Kindergarten Cohort contains 23,000 kindergartners who were first surveyed in 1998 and will be followed through 5th grade. The Birth Cohort contains 15,000 children who will be followed from birth in 2000 up through 1st grade.
School Survey on Crime and Safety (SSOCS)
The School Survey on Crime and Safety (SSOCS) is the primary source of school-level data on crime and safety for the U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). The SSOCS is a nationally representative cross-sectional survey of about 3,500 public elementary and secondary schools.
IPEDS
IPEDS is the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System. It is a system of interrelated surveys conducted annually by the U.S. Department of Education’s National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). IPEDS gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs.

Dataset Training

NCES Dataset Tutorials
The Distance Learning Dataset Training System (DLDT) is an online, interactive tool that allows users to learn about NCES data across the education spectrum and evaluate it for suitability for particular research purposes. The DLDT computer-based training modules are designed to introduce users to many NCES datasets, their design, and considerations for analysis to facilitate successful analyses.

Dataset Repositories

ICPSR
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
re3data
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.

Practice Datasets & Research Resources

SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. These are datasets taken from larger national and international data sources, cleaned and reduced in size and complexity for teaching and self-study purposes, perfect for researchers learning a new method or brushing up on an old one.
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video has over 480 videos, including hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. You can search videos by method (SPSS, ethnography, etc.); by discipline (criminology, economics, nursing, etc.); or by video type (i.e. interview, case studies, etc.).