Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music 171 -- Introduction to the World's Music -- Dr. Donald Henriques

Online Resources

Oxford Music Online is a gateway to Grove Music Online (which includes the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz); The Oxford Companion to Music (which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres); and The Oxford Dictionary of Music (which supplements Grove’s more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users).

Notice that you can choose to search only biographies from the main page.  You can search all 3 resources at once or choose to search the resources individually.  The result list will tell you which resources are providing the results.

Grove Music Online will give the lengthiest article and will provide a complete list of the composer's works.  The Oxford Companion and The Oxford Dictionary will contain shorter articles.

Streaming resources

You can link to streaming resources through the Library's online catalog.  You may use these resources on or off campus.  If you are off campus you will need to provide your email username and password to log in.

Print Resources

The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians / edited by Stanley Sadie ; executive editor, John Tyrrell.

Reference   ML100 .N48 2001 (29 volumes)

 Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians.  c 2001     Reference    f ML105 .B16 2001    (6 volumes)

 

The Oxford Companion to Music. Reference  ML100 .O92 2002

 

The Oxford Dictionary of Music     Reference  ML100 .K35 2006