Ally Self-Education
The Beautiful Struggle (Adapted for Young Adults) by ISBN: 9781984894021Publication Date: 2021-01-12
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria? by Call Number: Lower Level ; E185.625 .T38 1997ISBN: 9780465091270Publication Date: 1997-09-04
The New Jim Crow by Call Number: Lower Level ; HV9950 .A437 2010ISBN: 9781595581037Publication Date: 2010-01-05
Advancing Black Male Student Success from Preschool Through Ph. D. by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781620361849Publication Date: 2015-10-08
The Cooking Gene by Call Number: Popular Reading Collection ; E185.89.F66 T95 2017ISBN: 9780062379290Publication Date: 2017-08-01
White Like Me by Call Number: Streaming videoPublication Date: 2014
This Bridge Called My Back by Call Number: Lower Level ; PS509.F44 T5ISBN: 1438454384Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Women, Race and Class by Call Number: Lower Level ; HT1521 .D38ISBN: 9780394510392Publication Date: 1981-12-01
Crisis by Call Number: Lower Level ; HQ76.3.U5 C75 2008ISBN: 9781929774104Publication Date: 2008-09-01
This Bridge We Call Home by Call Number: Lower Level ; PS509.L47 T48 2002ISBN: 9780415936811Publication Date: 2002-09-20
Gender, Sex and Sexuality by Call Number: Lower Level ; PN56.S5 G42 2014ISBN: 9781619254039Publication Date: 2014-08-30
Disability Visibility (Adapted for Young Adults) by Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; HV1552.3 .D572 2020ISBN: 9780593381670Publication Date: 2021-10-26
Design for Dignity by Call Number: Lower Level ; f NA2545.P5 L35 1993ISBN: 9780471569107Publication Date: 1993-09-24
Between Myself and Them by Call Number: Lower Level ; HV1552.3 .B48 2006ISBN: 9781896764993Publication Date: 2005-10-18
The Latinos of Asia by Call Number: Lower Level ; F869.L89 O23 2016ISBN: 9780804793940Publication Date: 2016-03-02
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by Call Number: Lower Level ; E76.8 .D86 2014ISBN: 9780807000403Publication Date: 2014-09-16
Colonialism and Neocolonialism by Call Number: Lower Level ; DT33.5 .S3713 2001ISBN: 9780415191456Publication Date: 2001-04-05
Aloha Betrayed by Call Number: Lower Level ; DU625 .S49 2004ISBN: 9780822333500Publication Date: 2004-09-07
How to Be an Ally: Actions You Can Take for a Stronger, Happier Workplace by Call Number: ebook, 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; HF5549.5.M5 E65 2022ISBN: 9781264257935Publication Date: 2021-09-22
Allies by Call Number: Popular Reading Collection ; HM821 .A495 2021ISBN: 9780744039917Publication Date: 2021-09-14
Intersectionality and Higher Education by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0813597668Publication Date: 2019-05-03
Intersectionality in Feminist and Queer Movements by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0429289855Publication Date: 2019-11-26
- The Silenced and Silences: Representations in Ethnic Studies
Digital Exhibit for Fresno State Special Collections Research Center: "Born out of student and faculty protests at San Francisco State University in 1968, the establishment of Ethnic Studies as a field has a long and protracted history in California and the United States more broadly. The field encompasses four academic disciplines that shed light on a history of colonization, racism, marginalization, and discrimination. Ethnic Studies courses across the California State University system will expand in the years to come to improve awareness and examine marginalized perspectives. This exhibition focuses on specific, carefully selected materials from the Arne Nixon Center for the Study of Children’s Literature and the Special Collections Research Center and University Archives about African Americans, American Indians, Asian Americans, and Chicanx and Latinx Americans. The items you see displayed represent both the deep histories of racism and discrimination from the dominant Anglo-Western European-Judeo Christian-American culture as well as the responses of activism and education from marginalized Ethnic Studies communities.
Our exhibition also highlights that our collections are not neutral and contain inherent biases from the disciplines of Archival and Library Science and past practitioners. While the exhibit speaks to many different interventions into and about silenced groups, they are a small fraction of our holdings. Many archives and special collections do not represent the diversity of their campuses and communities, and we are no exception. Besides pointing out the biases of the past and present, we demonstrate the silences in both the archival record and published history."
- The Difference between being "Not Racist" and Antiracist byCall Number: streaming videoPublication Date: 2020There is no such thing as being "not racist," says author and historian Ibram X. Kendi. In this vital conversation, he defines the transformative concept of antiracism to help us more clearly recognize, take responsibility for and reject prejudices in our public policies, workplaces and personal beliefs. Learn how you can actively use this awareness to uproot injustice and inequality in the world -- and replace it with love.
- How anti-racism is a treatment for the 'cancer' of racismCall Number: streaming videoPublication Date: 2020From PBS Newshour.The deaths of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, and Breonna Taylor have sparked a renewed dialogue on racism in America. Reform advocates want policy and institutional changes, but individuals are also asking how they can address their own inherent racism. Amna Nawaz talks to Ibram X. Kendi, author of "How to Be An Antiracist," and Robin DiAngelo, author of "White Fragility".
Citizen King : 1963-1968Call Number: 3rd Floor - Music/Media Reserve - Request at Music Desk ; disc E185.97.K5 C483 2004Publication Date: 2005This story begins on the steps on the Lincoln Memorial in August 1963 when a 34-year-old preacher galvanized millions with his dream for an America free of racism. It comes to a bloody end almost five years later on a motel balcony in Memphis, Tennessee. In the years since those events unfolded, the man at the center, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., has become a mythic figure, a minister whose oratory is etched into the minds of millions of Americans, a civil rights activist whose words and image are more hotly contested, negotiated and sold than almost anyone else's in American history.
I am not your negro by Call Number: streaming videoPublication Date: 2016An Oscar-nominated documentary narrated by Samuel L. Jackson, I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO explores the continued peril America faces from institutionalized racism. In 1979, James Baldwin wrote a letter to his literary agent describing his next project, Remember This House. The book was to be a revolutionary, personal account of the lives and successive assassinations of three of his close friends--Medgar Evers, Malcolm X and Martin Luther King, Jr. At the time of Baldwin's death in 1987, he left behind only thirty completed pages of his manuscript. Now, in his incendiary new documentary, master filmmaker Raoul Peck envisions the book James Baldwin never finished. The result is a radical, up-to-the-minute examination of race in America, using Baldwin's original words and flood of rich archival material. I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO is a journey into black history that connects the past of the Civil Rights movement to the present of #BlackLivesMatter. It is a film that questions black representation in Hollywood and beyond. And, ultimately, by confronting the deeper connections between the lives and assassination of these three leaders, Baldwin and Peck have produced a work that challenges the very definition of what America stands for.