October is Global Diversity Awareness Month
-
Fencing with the King
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; PS3551.B895 F46 2022ISBN: 9780393867718Publication Date: 2022-03-15"A mesmerizing breakthrough novel of family myths and inheritances by the award-winning author of "Crescent." Amani is hooked on a mystery -- a poem on airmail paper that slips out of one of her father's books. It seems to have been written by her grandmother, a refugee who arrived in Jordan during the First World War. Soon the perfect occasion to investigate arises: her Uncle Hafez, an advisor to the King of Jordan, invites her father to celebrate the king's sixtieth birthday -- and to fence with the king, as in their youth. Her father has avoided returning to his homeland for decades, but Amani persuades him to come with her. Uncle Hafez will make their time in Jordan complicated -- and dangerous -- after Amani discovers a missing relative and is launched into a journey of loss, history, and, eventually, a fight for her own life. "Fencing with the King" masterfully draws on King Lear and Arthurian fable to explore the power of inheritance, the trauma of displacement, and whether we can release the past to build a future"-- Provided by publisher. -
Minor Feelings
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection E184.O6 H64 2020ISBN: 9781984820365Publication Date: 2020-02-25"Asian Americans inhabit a purgatorial status: neither white enough nor black enough, unmentioned in most conversations about racial identity. In the popular imagination, Asian Americans are all high-achieving professionals. But in reality, this is the most economically divided group in the country, a tenuous alliance of people with roots from South Asia to East Asia to the Pacific Islands, from tech millionaires to service industry laborers. How do we speak honestly about the Asian American condition--if such a thing exists? Poet and essayist Cathy Park Hong fearlessly and provocatively confronts this thorny subject, blending memoir, cultural criticism, and history to expose the truth of racialized consciousness in America. Binding these essays together is Hong's theory of "minor feelings." As the daughter of Korean immigrants, Cathy Park Hong grew up steeped in shame, suspicion, and melancholy. She would later understand that these "minor feelings" occur when American optimism contradicts your own reality--when you believe the lies you're told about your own racial identity..." -
We Fed an Island
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection HV555.P9 W4 2018ISBN: 9780062864482Publication Date: 2018-09-11Chef José Andrés arrived in Puerto Rico four days after Hurricane Maria ripped through the island. The economy was destroyed and for most people there was no clean water, no food, no power, no gas, and no way to communicate with the outside world. Andrés addressed the humanitarian crisis the only way he knew how: by feeding people, one hot meal at a time. From serving sancocho with his friend José Enrique at Enrique's ravaged restaurant in San Juan to eventually cooking 100,000 meals a day at more than a dozen kitchens across the island, Andrés and his team fed hundreds of thousands of people, including with massive paellas made to serve thousands of people alone. At the same time, they also confronted a crisis with deep roots, as well as the broken and wasteful system that helps keep some of the biggest charities and NGOs in business. Based on Andrés's insider's take as well as on meetings, messages, and conversations he had while in Puerto Rico, We Fed an Island movingly describes how a network of community kitchens activated real change and tells an extraordinary story of hope in the face of disasters both natural and man-made, offering suggestions for how to address a crisis like this in the future. Beyond that, a portion of the proceeds from the book will be donated to the Chef Relief Network of World Central Kitchen for efforts in Puerto Rico and beyond. -
Exit West
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection PS3558.A42169 E95 2017ISBN: 9780735212176Publication Date: 2017-03-07FINALIST FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE; 10 BEST BOOKS OF 2017, NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW; WINNER OF THE L.A. TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR FICTION and THE ASPEN WORDS LITERARY PRIZE
A New York Times bestseller, the astonishingly visionary love story that imagines the forces that drive ordinary people from their homes into the uncertain embrace of new lands.
In a country teetering on the brink of civil war, two young people meet—sensual, fiercely independent Nadia and gentle, restrained Saeed. They embark on a furtive love affair, and are soon cloistered in a premature intimacy by the unrest roiling their city. When it explodes, turning familiar streets into a patchwork of checkpoints and bomb blasts, they begin to hear whispers about doors—doors that can whisk people far away, if perilously and for a price. As the violence escalates, Nadia and Saeed decide that they no longer have a choice. Leaving their homeland and their old lives behind, they find a door and step through. . . .
Exit West follows these remarkable characters as they emerge into an alien and uncertain future, struggling to hold on to each other, to their past, to the very sense of who they are. Profoundly intimate and powerfully inventive, it tells an unforgettable story of love, loyalty, and courage that is both completely of our time and for all time. -
Genocide
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Reference Hot Topics ; KZ7180 .G416 2024ISBN: 9781534509320Publication Date: 2023-07-30"What factors lead a people to commit the unthinkable against an entire population? What constitutes genocide? Can it happen in a Democracy? Perhaps surprisingly, genocide continues to occur in the present day in places around the world. Why can't it be stopped? The enlightening viewpoints in this resource debate the finer points of genocide, including the murkier areas of mass brutality, ethnic cleansing, and war crimes. Students will gain a deep understanding of the topic through analysis of genocides throughout history"-- Provided by publisher. -
Dear America: Young Readers' Edition
by
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Curr ; PN4874.V37 A3 2019ISBN: 9780062914590Publication Date: 2019-03-05Pulitzer-Prize winning journalist Jose Antonio Vargas, called “the most famous undocumented immigrant in America,” tackles one of the defining issues of our time in this explosive and deeply personal call to arms. “This is not a book about the politics of immigration. This book––at its core––is not about immigration at all. This book is about homelessness, not in a traditional sense, but in the unsettled, unmoored psychological state that undocumented immigrants like myself find ourselves in. This book is about lying and being forced to lie to get by; about passing as an American and as a contributing citizen; about families, keeping them together, and having to make new ones when you can’t. This book is about constantly hiding from the government and, in the process, hiding from ourselves. This book is about what it means to not have a home. After 25 years of living illegally in a country that does not consider me one of its own, this book is the closest thing I have to freedom.” -
Educating Global Citizens in Colleges and Universities: Challenges and Opportunities
by
Call Number: Lower Level LC1090 .S74 2009ISBN: 0415990238Publication Date: 2009This book provides distinctive analysis of the full range of expressions in global education at a crucial time, when international competition rises, tensions with American foreign policy both complicate and motivate new activity, and a variety of innovations are taking shape. Citing best practices at a variety of institutions, the book provides practical coverage and guidance in the major aspects of global education, including curriculum, study abroad, international students, collaborations and branch campuses, while dealing as well with management issues and options.
-
Engaging Dissonance: Developing Mindful Global Citizenship in Higher Education
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1787143112Publication Date: 2017-03-10This volume explores the internationalization of higher education in the context of global citizenry and intercultural competencies. It focuses on presenting dissonance as a means to facilitating students' openness to complexity and development of intercultural skills or their experiences in the classroom. This volume provides educators with a conceptual and practical resource that focuses on the critical role of cognitive complexity/dissonance in the education of global citizens and the enactment of intercultural pedagogy. Addressing the tensions and complexities of varying viewpoints and experiences with equity and intercultural work will challenge readers to think critically about the implications of individual practice as well as unit and institutional structures and support in relation to desired college equity and intercultural goals. -
Global Classroom: An Essential Guide to Study Abroad
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1317259084Publication Date: 2010Travel abroad has become a standard feature of global citizenship and many seek help in making sure their travel experiences are fulfilling. University based tours and travel programs are among the most popular for the educated sojourner. This book is aimed at students, professors, and study abroad professionals, but anyone who wants help in preparing for informed and culturally sensitive travel will benefit from its extensive resources. Both a primer for a holistic experience abroad and a practical guide to issues that arise in any travel setting, The Global Classroom is an essential travel companion. It explores the philosophy behind overseas travel, the potential value of the experience, practical preparation for study abroad, selecting the right program, actively engaging in foreign educational settings, reorientation challenges, and exploring pathways for integrating the experience into careers as engaged global citizens. The guide concludes with an appendix containing valuable resources for easy use by all. -
Internationalizing Education: Local to Global Connections for the 21st Century
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9004364609Publication Date: 2018-06-01In Internationalizing Education: Local to Global Connections for the 21st Century, Cameron White offers a unique perspective in addressing issues in global, international, and comparative education. -
International Student Engagement: Strategies for Creating Inclusive, Connected, and Purposeful Campus Environments
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1620361493Publication Date: 2015-03-01This book outlines deep approaches to the academic and social integration of international students at U.S. colleges and universities. It describes concrete examples of strategies to enhance the international student experience across a wide range of institutional types, and explores actions that have enabled colleges and universities to create more inclusive, connected, and purposeful campus environments for international students. -
Mind the Gap: Global Learning at Home and Abroad
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1642670588Publication Date: 2020-03-12There is growing awareness that global learning is not confined to university, credit-bearing off campus international programs, and that institutions of higher learning have, up until now, conceived of global education too narrowly. Global learning through study abroad and off-campus domestic study fits into a larger context of students' educational experiences. You can find global learning as part of other high-impact practices; domestic off-campus programs, undergraduate research, and service- or community-based learning: all can be global learning opportunities. -
Reading, Writing, and Discussing at the Graduate Level: A Guidebook for International Students
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 076186413XPublication Date: 2014-01-01The purpose of this book is to help international students navigate the academic issues they will encounter while attending graduate school in the United States. This book provides guidelines for conquering the obstacles that international graduate students often face, such as developing independent ideas based on required readings, participating in classroom discussions effectively, organizing academic papers, and effectively managing academic work and social relationships. This book is an invaluable tool for international graduate students and their instructors and mentors. -
-
Abina and the Important Men
by
Call Number: KRX46.M36 G48 2016ISBN: 9780190238742Publication Date: 2015-06-01This is an illustrated "graphic history" based on an 1876 court transcript of a West African woman named Abina, who was wrongfully enslaved and took her case to court. The main scenes of the story take place in the courtroom, where Abina strives to convince a series of "important men"--A British judge, two Euro-African attorneys, a wealthy African country "gentleman," and a jury of local leaders --that her rights matter.--Publisher description. -
Algeria Is Beautiful Like America
by
Call Number: DT280.3 .B8713 2018ISBN: 9781549300219Publication Date: 2018-04-24Olivia had always heard stories about Algeria from her maternal grandmother, a Black Foot (a "Pied-Noir," the French term for Christian and Jewish settlers of French Algeria who emigrated to France after the Algerian War of Independence). After her grandmother's death, Olivia found some of her grandmother's journals and letters describing her homeland. Now, ten years later, she resolves to travel to Algeria and experience the country for herself. Olivia's quest to understand her origins will bring her to face questions about heritage, history, shame, friendship, memory, nostalgia, fantasy, the nature of exile, and our unending quest to understand who we are and where we come from. -
Anne Frank's Diary: the Graphic Adaptation
by
Call Number: DS135.N6 F731865 2018ISBN: 9781101871799Publication Date: 2018-10-02This book is an adaptation of Anne Frank's Diary of a Young Girl into a graphic version, featuring direct quotations from Frank's diary. This book is the only graphic biography of the diary that has been authorized by the Anne Frank Foundation.--adapted from publisher's description. -
Berlin
by
Call Number: PN6727.L87 B46 2018ISBN: 9781770463264Publication Date: 2018-09-04"Berlin is an intricate look at the fall of the Weimar Republic through the eyes of its citizens--Marthe Müller, a young woman escaping the memory of a brother killed in World War I, Kurt Severing, an idealistic journalist losing faith in the printed word as fascism and extremism take hold; the Brauns, a family torn apart by poverty and politics. Lutes weaves these characters' lives into the larger fabric of a city slowly ripping apart. The city itself is the central protagonist in this historical fiction. Lavish salons, crumbling sidewalks, dusty attics, and train stations: all these places come alive in Lutes' masterful hand. Weimar Berlin was the world's metropolis, where intellectualism, creativity, and sensuous liberal values thrived, and Lutes maps its tragic, inevitable decline. Devastatingly relevant and beautifully told, Berlin is one of the great epics of the comics medium."-- Amazon.com. -
Che
by
Call Number: F2849.22.G85 S67 2017ISBN: 9781786633286Publication Date: 2017-10-17"This dramatic and extensively researched book breathes new life into the story of Ernesto 'Che' Guevara. It portrays his revolutionary struggle through the appropriate medium of the underground political comic - one of the most prominent countercultural art forms since the 1960s. Spain Rodriguez's powerful artwork illuminates Che's life and the experiences that shaped him: his motorcycle journey through Latin America, his rise to prominence as a leader in Fidel Castro's revolutionary movement, his travels in Africa, the desperate mission in Bolivia that led to his death." -- Back cover. -
Grass
by
Call Number: D810.C698 G4613 2019ISBN: 9781770463622Publication Date: 2019-08-27"Grass is a powerful anti-war graphic novel, offering up firsthand the life story of a Korean girl named Okseon Lee who was forced into sexual slavery for the Japanese Imperial Army during the second World War - a disputed chapter in 20th century Asian history. Beginning in Lee's childhood, Grass shows the leadup to World War II from a child's vulnerable perspective, detailing how one person experienced the Japanese occupation and the widespread suffering it entailed for ordinary Korean folk. Keum Suk Gendry-Kim emphasizes Lee's strength in overcoming the many forms of adversity she experienced. Grass is painted in a black ink that flows with lavish details of the beautiful fields and farmland of Korea and uses heavy brushwork on the somber interiors of Lee's memories. The cartoonist Gendry-Kim's interviews with Lee become an integral part of Grass, forming the heart and architecture of this powerful nonfiction graphic novel and offering a holistic view of how Lee's wartime suffering changed her. Grass is a landmark graphic novel that makes personal the desperate cost of war and the importance of peace."-- Provided by publisher -
I Know What I Am
by
Call Number: ND623.G364 S53 2019ISBN: 9781683962113Publication Date: 2019-09-10"Michelangelo, Velázquez, Rubens, Rembrandt -- all larger-than-life Renaissance figures celebrated for their mastery of their art. But often overlooked in this pantheon of Old Masters is Artemisia Gentileschi -- Italy's greatest female painter. In her debut graphic novel, Gina Siciliano brings to life the tumultuous 17th-century cities of Rome, Florence, Naples, and Venice where the fearless Gentileschi braved the male-dominated sphere of painting to become a groundbreaking artist. I Know What I Am paints a complex, feminist portrait of Artemisia as a single mother, a sexual assault survivor, and a pioneering practitioner of her craft."-- Provided by publisher. -
My Solo Exchange Diary Vol. 1
by
Call Number: PN6790.J34 M9701 2018ISBN: 9781626928893Publication Date: 2018-06-05Struggling with the idea of living alone and adjusting to the effects of her previous book's success, this follow-up to the award-winning autobiographical comic continues the author's quest for self-acceptance and love. -
Not the Israel My Parents Promised Me
by
Call Number: DS132 .P45 2012ISBN: 9780809094820Publication Date: 2012-07-03Over the course of one day, traces the loss of the author's Zionist faith against a backdrop of Jewish history, recounting how his growing disaffection with the modern state of Israel was shaped by the mythologies and realities of the Jewish homeland. -
Palestine
by
Call Number: DS119.7 .S23 2015ISBN: 9781560974321Publication Date: 2001-12-17Uses a comic book format to shed light on the complex and emotionally-charged situation of Palestinian Arabs, exploring the lives of Israeli soldiers, Palestinian refugees, and children in the Occupied Territories. -
This Land Is My Land: a Graphic History of Big Dreams, Micronations, and Other Self-Made States (Graphic Novel, World History Books, Nonfiction Graphic Novels)
by
Call Number: JZ6300 .W37 2019ISBN: 9781452170183Publication Date: 2019-05-07"Your country isn't perfect--but with a little planning and a personalized flag, your true utopia may be as close as your own backyard! Here are the stories of thirty self-made places around the world built with a dream of utopia: from the Gay and Lesbian Kingdom of the Coral Sea Islands to the Indian rock garden of Nek Chand to the micronation of Sealand and much more. Whether they were building an ideal community, a safe haven, an inspiring structure, or a better-run country, these creators struck out against the laws of their homelands, the approval of their peers, or even nature itself to shape the world around them."-- Provided by publisher. -
We Are on Our Own
by
Call Number: DS135.H93 K38 2006ISBN: 9781896597201Publication Date: 2006-05-16A stunning memoir of a mother and her daughter's survival in WWII and their subsequent lifelong struggle with faith. In this captivating and elegantly illustrated graphic memoir, Miriam Katin retells the story of her and her mother's escape on foot from the Nazi invasion of Budapest. With her father off fighting for the Hungarian army and the German troops quickly approaching, Katin and her mother are forced to flee to the countryside after faking their deaths. Leaving behind all of their belongings and loved ones, and unable to tell anyone of their whereabouts, they disguise themselves as a Russian servant and illegitimate child, while literally staying a few steps ahead of the German soldiers. We Are on Our Own is a woman's attempt to rebuild her earliest childhood trauma in order to come to an understanding of her lifelong questioning of faith. Katin's faith is shaken as she wonders how God could create and tolerate such a wretched world, a world of fear and hiding, bargaining and theft, betrayal and abuse. The complex and horrific experiences on the run are difficult for a child to understand, and as a child, Katin saw them with the simple longing, sadness, and curiosity she felt when her dog ran away or a stranger made her mother cry. Katin's ensuing lifelong struggle with faith is depicted throughout the book in beautiful full-color sequences. We Are on Our Own is the first full-length graphic novel by Katin, at the age of sixty-three.
-
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for any topic, Academic Search Ultimate contains nearly 13,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. Content covers all subject areas with material from 1887 to the present.
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. The collection represents content from over 800 leading distributors, producers, and filmmakers such as CNN, 60 MINUTES, PBS, BBC, Contemporary Arts Media, and the Royal Shakespeare Company.
-
Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Search across all of Gale Primary Sources. Focuses on sexuality and gender history in the latter half of the twentieth century with content particularly, but not exclusively, exploring LGBTQ+ experiences. Composed of 51 unique collections drawn from major international bodies to local grassroots organizations, these historical documents illuminate the sexual experiences of LGBTQ+ persons and individuals from various races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and locations. These primary sources also provide significant coverage of the history of women's rights campaigns. With numerous female-authored sources, the archive helps uncover more elusive female perspectives on issues related to sex, social structures, science, politics, society, expectations, and gender roles. This collection consists of LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I and II.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of 400+ newspapers, journals, and magazines of the ethnic and minority press. Content from 1985-present.
-
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent global news content – with archives that stretch back into the 1980s – from over 2,800 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
-
Journal of Research in International EducationCall Number: eJournal
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Explore over 500,000 data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States from present to 1790, including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets.
-
ULRICHSWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types published worldwide: academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.