June is LGBTQ+ Pride Month
-
This Arab Is Queer
by
"This ground-breaking anthology features the compelling and courageous memoirs of eighteen queer Arab writers - some internationally bestselling, others using pseudonyms. Here, we find heart-warming connections and moments of celebration alongside essays exploring the challenges of being LGBTQ+ and Arab. From a military base in the Gulf to loving whispers caught between the bedsheets; and from touring overseas as a drag queen to a concert in Cairo where the rainbow flag was raised to a crowd of thousands, this collection celebrates the true colours of a vibrant Arab queer experience"-- Amazon.com.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; HQ73.4.A72 T45 2022ISBN: 9780863564789Publication Date: 2022-10-18 -
Mean Boys
by
"In this pyrotechnic memoir-in-essays, Mak ranges widely over our landscape of paranoia, crisis, and frenetic, clickable consumption. He grants readers an inside pass to the spaces where culture was made and unmade over the past decade, from the antiseptic glare of white-walled galleries to the darkest corners of Berlin techno clubs. As the gay son of an evangelical minister, Mak fled to those spaces, hoping to join a global, influential elite. But when calamity struck, it forced Mak to confront the costs of mistaking status for belonging. Fusing personal essay and cultural critique, Mean Boys investigates exile and return, transgression and forgiveness, and the value of faith, empathy, and friendship in a world designed to make us want what is bad for us" -- Publisher's description.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; HQ75.8.M27 A3 2024ISBN: 9781635577945Publication Date: 2024-08-01 -
Love That Story
by
In Jonathan Van Ness' New York Times bestselling memoir Over the Top, he showed readers how the incredibly difficult moments from his life (surviving sexual abuse and addiction, being diagnosed with HIV) have existed alongside great joy and positivity (landing a breakout role on Netflix's Queer Eye, becoming an amateur figure skater and professional stand-up comedian, doting on his cats). If Jonathan has learned anything from these experiences, it's that in order to thrive, he had to push past the shame and fear of being his true self. To embark on that journey, he had to get comfortable with being uncomfortable. In this candid and curious essay collection, Jonathan takes a thoughtful, in-depth look at timely topics through the lens of his own personal experience--instances that have required him to learn, grow, and back handspring layout to a better understanding of the world around him. He dives deeply and widely--from a poignant reflection on grief and embracing body neutrality to an examination of the HIV safety net and white privilege--to share the ways in which he has learned to embrace change. These stories speak to doing the work to challenge internalized beliefs, finding compassion and confidence, and learning more about what makes us all so messy and gorgeous. Balancing the dark and the light, the serious and the signature humor that is Jonathan Van Ness, these essays will encourage readers to examine their individual assumptions and expand their horizons. Ultimately, it is about giving ourselves the permission to be the flawed and fabulous humans we are, and loving our stories.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; PN2287.V336 A3 2022ISBN: 9780063082267Publication Date: 2022-04-12 -
Make the Season Bright
by
"Two exes find themselves stuck at the same house for Christmas in this holiday romance by Ashley Herring Blake, USA Today bestselling author of Iris Kelly Doesn't Date. It's been five years since Charlotte Donovan was ditched at the altar by her ex-fiancée, and she's doing more than okay. Sure, her single mother never checks in, but she has her strings ensemble, the Rosalind Quartet, and her life in New York is a dream come true. As the holidays draw near, her ensemble mate Sloane persuades Charlotte and the rest of the quartet to spend Christmas with her family in Colorado--it is much cozier and quieter than Manhattan, and it would guarantee more practice time for the quartet's upcoming tour. But when Charlotte arrives, she discovers that Sloane's sister Adele also brought a friend home--and that friend is none other than her ex, Brighton. All Brighton Fairbrook wanted was to have the holliest, jolliest Christmas-and try to forget that her band kicked her out. But instead, she's stuck pretending like she and her ex are strangers-which proves to be difficult when Sloane and Adele's mom signs them all up for a series of Christmas dating events. Charlotte and Brighton are soon entrenched in horseback riding and cookie decorating, but Charlotte still won't talk to her. Brighton can hardly blame her after what she did. After a few days, however, things start to slip through. Memories. Music. The way they used to play together--Brighton on guitar, Charlotte on her violin--and it all feels painfully familiar. But it's all in the past and nothing can melt the ice in their hearts... right?"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; PS3602.L3413 M35 2024ISBN: 9780593550595Publication Date: 2024-10-01 -
Ordinary Girls
by
"Jaquira Díaz writes an unflinching account of growing up as a queer biracial girl searching for home as her family splits apart and her mother struggles with mental illness and addiction. From her own struggles with depression and drug abuse to her experiences of violence to Puerto Rico's history of colonialism, every page vibrates with music and lyricism"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; PS3604.I176 Z46 2019ISBN: 9781616209131Publication Date: 2019-10-29 -
Somewhere Beyond the Sea
by
"Arthur Parnassus lives a good life, built on the ashes of a bad one. He's the headmaster of a strange orphanage on a distant and peculiar island, and he hopes to soon be the adoptive father to the six magical and so-called dangerous children who live there. Arthur works hard and loves with his whole heart so none of the children ever feel the neglect and pain that he once felt as an orphan on that very same island so long ago. And he is not alone: joining him is the love of his life, Linus Baker, a former caseworker in the Department in Charge of Magical Youth; Zoe Chapelwhite, the island's sprite; and her girlfriend, Mayor Helen Webb. Together, they will do anything to protect the children. But when Arthur is summoned to make a public statement about his dark past, he finds himself at the helm of a fight for the future that his family, and all magical people, deserve. And when a new magical child hopes to join them on their island home--one who finds power in calling himself monster, a name Arthur worked so hard to protect his children from--Arthur knows they're at a breaking point: their family will either grow stronger than ever or fall apart" --Front sleeve.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; PS3611.L86 S66 2024ISBN: 9781250881205Publication Date: 2024-09-10 -
A Thousand Times Before
by
"A heartrending family saga following three generations of women connected by a fantastic tapestry through which they inherit the experiences of those that lived before them, sweeping readers from Partition-era India to modern day Brooklyn. Ayukta is finally sitting down with her wife Nadya to respond to a question she's long avoided: Should they have a child? The decision is complicated by a secret her family has kept for centuries, one that Ayukta will be the first to share with someone outside their bloodline: the women in her family inherit a mysterious tapestry, through which each generation can experience the memories of those who came before her. Ayukta invites Nadya into this lineage, carrying her through its past. She relives her grandmother Amla's life: Once a happy child in Karachi, Amla migrates to Gujarat during Partition, witnessing violence and loss that forever shape her approach to marriage and motherhood. Amla's daughter, Arni, bears this weight in her own blood in 1974, when gender equity and urban class distinctions divide the community as a bold student movement takes hold. As Ayukta unspools these generations of women-whole decades of love, loss, heartbreak, and revival-she reveals the tapestry's second gift: the ability for each of these women to dramatically reshape their own worlds. Like all power, both fantastic and societal, this inheritance is more treacherous than it seems. What would it mean, to impart an impossible burden? To withhold these incredible gifts? Sweeping, deeply felt and intergenerational, A Thousand Times Before is a debut as poetic as it is propulsive, as healing as it is heartbreaking, as it examines what it means to carry our past with us and to pass it on. Rooted in a tender love story, and spun with a tremendous amount of care, this book is a rare, remarkable feat from an incredible new literary talent"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; PS3620.H347 T48 2024ISBN: 9780593654644Publication Date: 2024-07-09 -
On Top of Glass
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection GV850.M35 A3 2021ISBN: 9780593308462Publication Date: 2021-10-19"A memoir of Karina Manta, the first female member of USA Figure Skating to come out as queer"-- Provided by publisher. -
A Positive View of Lgbtq
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection HQ73 .R54 2012 (also available as an ebook)ISBN: 9781442212817Publication Date: 2011-12-15"A Positive View of LGBTQ starts a new conversation about the strengths and benefits of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) identities. Positive LGBTQ identities are affirmed through inspiring firsthand accounts. Focusing on how LGBTQ-identified individuals can cultivate a sense of well-being and a personal identity that allows them to flourish in all areas of life, the authors explore a variety of themes."--Jacket. -
Las Biuty Queens
by
Drawing from his/her own experience as a trans performer, sex worker, and undocumented immigrant, Iván Monalisa Ojeda chronicles the lives of Latinx queer and trans immigrants in New York City. Whether she is struggling with addiction, clashing with law enforcement, or is being subjected to personal violence, each character choses her own path of defiance, often responding to her fate with irreverent dark humor. What emerges is the portrait of a group of friends who express unquestioning solidarity and love for each other, and of an unfamiliar, glittering and violent, New York City that will draw readers in and swallow them whole. On every page, Iván Monalisa's unique narrative talent is on display as he/she artfully transforms the language of the streets, making it his/her own -- rich with rhythm and debauchery. This bold new collection positions Ojeda as a fresh and necessary voice within the canon of world literature.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection PQ8098.425.J43 B58 2021ISBN: 9781662600302Publication Date: 2021-06-01 -
Love Is an Ex-Country
by
"Queer. Muslim. Arab American. A proudly Fat woman. Randa Jarrar is all of these things. In this "viscerally elegant" and "intimately edgy" memoir of a cross-country road trip, she explores how to claim joy in an unraveling and hostile America. Randa Jarrar is a fearless voice of dissent who has been called "politically incorrect." As an American raised for a time in Egypt, and finding herself captivated by the story of a celebrated Egyptian belly dancer's journey across the United States in the 1940s, she sets off from her home in California to her parents' in Connecticut. Coloring this road trip are journeys abroad and recollections of a life lived with daring. Reclaiming her autonomy after a life of survival--domestic assault as a child, and later, as a wife; threats and doxxing after her viral tweet about Barbara Bush--Jarrar offers a bold look at domestic violence, single motherhood, and sexuality through the lens of the punished-yet-triumphant body. On the way, she schools a rest-stop racist, destroys Confederate flags in the desert, and visits the Chicago neighborhood where her immigrant parents first lived. Hailed as "one of the finest writers of her generation" (Laila Lalami), Jarrar delivers a euphoric and critical, funny and profound memoir that will speak to anyone who has felt erased, asserting: I am here. I am joyful"--provided by publisher.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection PS3610.A76 L3 2021ISBN: 9781948226585Publication Date: 2021-02-02 -
Pauli Murray
by
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Curr ; E185.97.M95 S748 2022ISBN: 9781499812510Publication Date: 2022-02-08Written in verse, this inspiring biography chronicles the life of a queer civil rights and women's rights activist who fought for many of the rights taken for granted today, working tirelessly for human rights and the dignity of life for all. -
Are You a Friend of Dorothy?
by
""Are you a friend of Dorothy?" In a time when the LGBTQ+ community was forced to hide in the shadows, a woman named Dorothy helped her people find each other in the dark and celebrate themselves in the light. But who was Dorothy? Was she from the neighborhood, someone's wife, mother, or sister? Was she that clever writer, who threw parties where there were no rules about who you could and couldn't dance with? Or was she a girl from Kansas, who dreamed of leaving her black-and-white, small-town life and finding a vibrant, colorful world that loved her?"-- Amazon.com.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Curr ; HQ76.3.U5 L85 2025ISBN: 9781665931663Publication Date: 2025-04-29 -
Being Jazz
by
Teen activist and trailblazer Jazz Jennings--named one of "The 25 most influential teens" of the year by Time--shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while they embrace their own truths
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Curr ; HQ77.8.J47 A3 2016ISBN: 9780399554643Publication Date: 2016-06-07 -
Road Home
by
"This final, essential chapter in Rex Ogle's memoir trilogy recounts being forced from his home and living on the streets after his father discovered he was gay. When Rex was outed the summer after he graduated high school, his father gave him a choice: he could stay at home, find a girlfriend, and attend church twice a week, or he could be gay--and leave. Rex left, driving toward the only other gay man he knew and a toxic relationship that would ultimately leave him homeless and desperate on the streets of New Orleans. Here, Rex tells the story of his coming out and his father's rejection of his identity, navigating abuse and survival on the streets. 'Road Home' is a devastating and incandescent reflection on Rex's hunger--for food, for love, and for a place to call home--completing the trilogy of memoirs that began with the award-winning 'Free Lunch.'"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Curr ; HV1431 .O353 2024ISBN: 9781324019923Publication Date: 2024-05-14 -
Jimmy's Rhythm and Blues
by
"Before he became a legendary writer, James "Jimmy" Baldwin was a young boy from Harlem, New York, who loved stories. He found joy in the rhythm of music, family, and books. But Jimmy also found the blues, as a Black man living in America. When he discovered the written word, he discovered true power. Writing gave him a voice. And that voice opened the world to Jimmy. From the publication of the groundbreaking collection of essays The Fire Next Time to his passionate demonstrations during the civil rights movement, Jimmy used his voice fearlessly. Michelle Meadows, author of Brave Ballerina and Flying High, introduces young readers to the great American novelist, essayist, poet, playwright, orator, and artist James Baldwin, who, with the fire of his pen, dared a nation to dream of a more equitable world filled with love. Brought to life with vivid and striking illustrations by Jamiel Law, Jimmy's Rhythm & Blues chronicles the life of an incredible visionary who left an indelible mark on American literature and history." -- Jacket flap.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Curr ; PS3552.A45 Z8235 2024ISBN: 9780063273474Publication Date: 2024-01-30 -
Transgender Lives
by
"I didn't hear the word transgender until I was eighteen, when a person I was dating came out as trans. My boyfriend came out as my girlfriend, and I thought, 'What ... is that?' She said, 'I just don't think I'm a man.' And I said, 'Guess what? Neither do I.' And then the skies parted, and I understood who I was." Katie Burgess, nonprofit director and community activist/organizer Meet Katie, Hayden, Dean, Brooke, David, Julia, and Natasha. Each is transgender, and in this book, they share their personal stories. Through their narratives, you'll get to know and love each person for their humor, intelligence, perseverance, and passion. You'll learn how they each came to better understand, accept, and express their gender identities, and you'll follow them through the sorrows and successes of their personal journeys. Transgender Lives helps you understand what it means to be transgender in America while learning more about transgender history, the broad spectrum of transgender identities, and the transition process. You'll explore the challenges transgender Americans face, including discrimination, prejudice, bullying and violence, unequal access to medical care, and limited legal protections. For transgender readers, these stories offer support and encouragement. Transgender Lives is a space for trans* voices to be heard and to express the complexities of gender while focusing on what it means to be human.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Curr HQ77.95.U6 C76 2015ISBN: 9780761390220Publication Date: 2014-08-01 -
You Need to Chill!
by
"The sparklingly funny debut picture book from Juno Dawson, bestselling writer and activist. Sometimes people say to me: 'What happened to your brother, Bill?' That's when I look them in the eye and say: 'Hun, you need to chill.' When Bill can't be found at school one day, the imaginations of the other children run wild. Is he on holiday? Is he lost in the park? Has he been eaten by a shark?! It's up to Bill's sister to explain ... Juno Dawson' debut picture book is a witty and fun-filled rhyming story about family, identity and allyship. Bold, joyful and warm-hearted, its message of love and inclusivity shines through on every page."-- Publisher marketing.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Juv ; jE PZ2.D3256 you 2023ISBN: 9781728275529Publication Date: 2023-05-02 -
Who You Will Be
by
New parents invite their baby to express themselves through whatever color feels right to them.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Juv ; jE PZ2.R7514 who 2024ISBN: 9780593623138Publication Date: 2024-05-07 -
I Will Never Leave You
by
"A teen girl is being haunted by the ghost of her toxic ex-girlfriend, who gives her a chilling ultimatum--help her possess another girl or go down for her murder"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Juv ; j PZ1.K3834 iwi 2024ISBN: 9780593707463Publication Date: 2024-07-23 -
Most Ardently: a Pride and Prejudice Remix
by
London, 1812. Oliver Bennet feels trapped. Not just by the endless corsets, petticoats and skirts he's forced to wear on a daily basis, but also by society's expectations. The world--and the vast majority of his family and friends--think Oliver is a girl named Elizabeth. He is therefore expected to mingle at balls wearing a pretty dress, entertain suitors regardless of his interest in them, and ultimately become someone's wife. But Oliver can't bear the thought of such a fate. He finds solace in the few times he can sneak out of his family's home and explore the city rightfully dressed as a young gentleman. It's during one such excursion when Oliver becomes acquainted with Darcy, a sulky young man who had been rude to "Elizabeth" at a recent social function. But in the comfort of being out of the public eye, Oliver comes to find that Darcy is actually a sweet, intelligent boy with a warm heart. And not to mention incredibly attractive. As Oliver is able to spend more time as his true self, often with Darcy, part of him dares begin to hope that his dream of love and life as a man could be possible. But suitors are growing bolder--and even threatening--and his mother is growing more desperate to see him settled into an engagement. Oliver will have to choose: Settle for safety, security, and a life of pretending to be something he's not, or risk it all for a slim chance at freedom, love, and a life that can be truly, honestly his own.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Juv ; j PZ1.N8596 mos 2024ISBN: 9781250869807Publication Date: 2024-01-16 -
Libertad
by
Set during the controversial 2017 Honduran presidential election, seventeen-year-old Libertad finds purpose writing political poetry as she navigates her sexuality and concerns for her activist brother's safety.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Juv ; j PZ1.Z145 Lib 2024ISBN: 9780593696125Publication Date: 2024-08-27 -
Jack (Not Jackie)
by
Call Number: 3rd Floor South - Arne Nixon Center ; lgbtq PZ7.S58625 Jac 2018ISBN: 9781499807318Publication Date: 2018-10-09Susan loves her baby sister, Jackie, but as Jackie grows older and behaves more and more like a boy Susan must adjust to having a brother, Jack, instead. -
Laura Aguilar
by
Laura Aguilar: Show and Tell surveys the career of Laura Aguilar, a Chicana photographer who is most widely known for black-and-white nude self-portraits that are frank and self-assertive, yet deeply sensitive and poetic. In photographs that are frequently political as well as personal, Aguilar offers candid portrayals of herself, her friends and family, and her Chicano/Latino and LBGT communities. Ten essays trace the development of Aguilar's work over three decades, exploring her photography in terms of its social, historical, and art historical contexts. This catalog accompanies Laura Aguilar: Show and Tell, a retrospective at the Vincent Price Art Museum at East Los Angeles College. The exhibition is a collaboration between the museum and the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center, which houses the Laura Aguilar Collection of the artist's papers and photographs. -- Amazon.com.
Call Number: Lower Level ; f TR647 .A3625 2017ISBN: 9780895511683Publication Date: 2017-09-15 -
Forward
by
"Abby Wambach has always pushed the limits of what is possible. Named by Time magazine as one of the most influential people of 2015, the iconic soccer player captured the nation's heart when she led her team to its recent World Cup Championship. Admired for her fearlessness and passion, Abby is a vocal advocate for women's rights and equal opportunity, pushing to translate the success of her team to the real world. She has become a heavily requested speaker to a wide a range of audiences, from college students to executives at Fortune 500 companies. In Forward, Abby recounts her own decisions, wins, losses, and the pivotal moments that helped her become the world class athlete and leader she is today. Wambach's book goes beyond the soccer field to reveal a soulful person grappling universal questions about how we can live our best lives, and become our truest selves. Written with honesty and heart, Forward is an inspiring blueprint for individual growth and rousing call to action"-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: Lower Level ; GV942.7.W36 A3 2017ISBN: 9780062467010Publication Date: 2016-09-13 -
The Saddest Music Ever Written
by
Call Number: Lower Level ; ML410.B23 L37 2010ISBN: 9781605981154Publication Date: 2010-09-15When Barber was 28, his Adagio for Strings was performed by the NBC Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Arturo Toscanini in 1938. -
The House of Impossible Beauties
by
Call Number: Lower Level ; PS3603.A86822 H68 2018ISBN: 9780062676979Publication Date: 2018-02-06"A gritty and gorgeous debut that follows a cast of gay and transgender club kids navigating the Harlem ball scene of the 80s and 90s, inspired by the real House of Xtravaganza made famous by the seminal documentary "Paris is Burning""-- Provided by publisher. -
They Both Die at the End
by
Call Number: Lower Level ; PS3619.I55232 T44 2017 and 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Juv ; j PZ1.Si393 the 2017ISBN: 9780062457790Publication Date: 2017-09-05"On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure--to live a lifetime in a single day.'"-- Amazon. -
Queer America
by
Call Number: Lower Level HQ76.3.U5 E35 2008ISBN: 9780313337499Publication Date: 2008-03-30Details the history of homosexuality in the United States, focusing on its political and cultural relationships with society, and on American history with respect to queer theory. -
Queer Noises
by
Call Number: Lower Level ML63 .G49 1995ISBN: 9780816627189Publication Date: 1995-03-01"Male and female homosexuality in twentieth century music," including Benjamin Britten, John Cage, Billy Strayhorn, Boy George, and more. -
The Queen's Throat by
Call Number: Lower Level ML429.K74 A3 1993ISBN: 9780671754570Publication Date: 1993-02-01"Opera, homosexuality, and the mystery of desire"
-
Gendered Fortunes
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1478019549Publication Date: 2023-04-21"Gendered Fortunes approaches the proliferating fortunetelling economy of millennial Turkey as an affective window on the gendered contradictions of (post)secularism, Islamist authoritarianism, and neoliberalism. The book ethnographically details how secular Muslim women and LGBTIQ individuals navigate their secular anxieties, gendered vulnerabilities, and economic precarities through divination."-- Provided by publisher. -
Black and Queer on Campus
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Popular Reading Collection ; LC212.92 .J44 2023ISBN: 9781479803910Publication Date: 2023-03-21"Black and Queer on Campus is a ground-breaking account of queer Black experiences on college campuses, based on 65 interviews with Black LGBTQ students"-- Provided by publisher. -
Lived Experience of LGBTQ People: What Helps and What Hurts
by
"Lived Experiences of LGBTQ People: What Helps and What Hurts provides a comprehensive overview of the challenges encountered by Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer/Questioning individuals in accessing services and obtaining education, employment, and housing. Family and community bias against this population results in significant negative outcomes including increased mental health problems, homelessness, and social isolation. In addition, societal stigma and discrimination lead to poor physical health, increased smoking, alcohol and substance use, and economic disparities. Helping professionals must better understand the negative effects of discrimination and barriers to care the LGBTQ community faces to provide affirming and competent services and improve their quality of life. This book can be used by social workers, psychologists, health professionals and instructors to help them understand the relevant issues to provide nondiscriminatory and culturally sensitive care to LGBTQ and gender nonconforming individuals. This book summarizes the issues faced by this population to educate the reader on the history and effect of LGBTQ oppression, as well as victories that have led to current policies. Policies including the Affordable Care Act, the Religious Freedom Restoration Act, the Civil Rights Act and Title VII are examined for their impact on the LGBTQ individual. Discrimination policies regarding employment, schools, housing, HIV, and the military will be covered as well. The book includes chapters with a focus on social and family issues, physical health disparities, mental health concerns, substance use, economic and workplace challenges, and societal and legal issues that impact the LGBTQ community. A chapter on practical solutions and programmatic interventions for providing affirming and inclusive services will be instructive as to how to present a safe and welcoming space to clients. This book offers information for service providers and instructors to adapt clinical interventions to help build relationships, make assessments, and deliver services that celebrate, rather than discriminate against LGBTQ clients. There is a theme of inclusion throughout the book so there can be no doubt that the service provider does not have to identify as part of the LGBTQ community to effectively work with this cohort. There are numerous case studies throughout the book, examples of how to use inclusive language in clinical interviews, a comprehensive glossary of terms, and useful websites"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1536198188Publication Date: 2021-06-04 -
Working with Trans Survivors of Sexual Violence
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1784506184Publication Date: 2019-01-21Introduction -- Introduction to trans identities -- Violence experienced by the trans community -- Trauma and its effects -- Problems with accessing mainstream services -- Best practice-organisations -- Best practice-individual practitioners -- Looking ahead. -
-
Coming Out Stories
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1787754952Publication Date: 2021-01-21"I accidentally came out whilst reaching for some brussel sprouts." - Karlton "I put my hands over my eyes as I told her, as I couldn't bear to see her reaction." - Olivia Based on the hugely popular Coming Out Stories podcast, this empowering, humorous and deeply honest book invites you to share one of the most important moments in many LGBTQ+ people's lives. From JP coming out to his reflection in the mirror, to Jacob coming out to their Mum over email, from Christine knowing she was trans as a young child, to Kerry coming out as a lesbian in her late thirties, all of the real life stories in this book show you there is no right or wrong way to come out, whatever your age and whatever your background. Whether you're gay, pan, queer, bi, trans, non-binary, or an ally, this uplifting go-to resource is filled with helpful advice and tips on what to expect, and inspirational quotes from leading LGBTQ+ figures, to help you live your very best self. Welcome to the family!"-- Provided by publisher. -
Worlding Postcolonial Sexualities
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1003170307Publication Date: 2021-08-01 -
Bodies and Barriers : Queer Activists on Health.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1-62963-784-3Publication Date: 2020 -
Beyond Marriage
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1442248645Publication Date: 2017-03-23Employment opportunity -- Transgender rights -- Marriage equality -- Continuing struggles -- Global perspectives -- Conclusion. -
Gender Identity, Sexuality and Autism
by
Bringing together a collection of narratives from those who are on the autism spectrum whilst also identifying as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex and/or asexual (LGBTQIA), this book explores the intersection of the two spectrums as well as the diverse experiences that come with it. By providing knowledge and advice based on in-depth research and personal accounts, the narratives will be immensely valuable to teenagers, adults, partners and families. The authors round these stories with a discussion of themes across narratives, and implications for the issues discussed. In the final chapter, the authors reflect on commonly asked questions from a clinical perspective, bringing in relevant research, as well as sharing best-practice tips and considerations that may be helpful for LGBTQIA and ASD teenagers and adults. These may also be used by family members and clinicians when counselling teenagers and adults on the dual spectrum. With each chapter structured around LGBTQIA and autism spectrum identities, Gender Identity, Sexuality and Autism highlights the fluidity of gender identity, sexual orientation and neurodiversity and provides a space for people to sharetheir individual experiences Publisher description.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1784505854Publication Date: 2019-01-21 -
Senior care and services : essays and case studies on practices, innovations and challenges
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1476638823Publication Date: 2020"There are more senior citizens in the U.S. today than ever before. Public services for seniors are rapidly changing and expanding as this diverse population ages. This collection of essays describes key developments in services being provided in cities across the nation. Topics include seniors and the U.S. government; health and wellness; longevity; caregiving; housing and accommodations; Social Security and finance; immigrant, minority and LGBT issues, and life-long learning and technology."-- Provided by publisher. -
Through the Door of Life
by
Professor Jay Ladin made headlines around the world when, after years of teaching literature at Yeshiva University, he returned to the Orthodox Jewish campus as a woman—Joy Ladin. In Through the Door of Life , Joy Ladin takes readers inside her transition as she changed genders and, in the process, created a new self.     With unsparing honesty and surprising humor, Ladin wrestles with both the practical problems of gender transition and the larger moral, spiritual, and philosophical questions that arise. Ladin recounts her struggle to reconcile the pain of her experience living as the “wrong” gender with the pain of her children in losing the father they love. We eavesdrop on her lifelong conversations with the God whom she sees both as the source of her agony and as her hope for transcending it. We look over her shoulder as she learns to walk and talk as a woman after forty-plus years of walking and talking as a man. We stare with her into the mirror as she asks herself how the new self she is creating will ever become real.     Ladin’s poignant memoir takes us from the death of living as the man she knew she wasn’t, to the shattering of family and career that accompanied her transition, to the new self, relationships, and love she finds when she opens the door of life. “Wrenching—and liberating. . . .[it] opens up new ways of looking at gender and the place of LGBT Jews in community.”— Greater Phoenix Jewish News “Given her high-profile academic position, Ladin’s transition was a major news story in Israel and even internationally. But behind the public story was a private struggle and learning experience, and Ladin pulls no punches in telling that story. She offers a peek into how daunting it was to learn, with little support from others, how to dress as a middle-aged woman, to mu on make-up, to walk and talk like a female. She provides a front-row seat for observing how one person confronted a seemingly impossible situation and how she triumphed, however shakingly, over the many adversities, both societal and psychological, that stood in the way.”— The Gay and Lesbian Review Worldwide
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780299287306Publication Date: 2012-03-15 -
Queering the pitch: The new gay and lesbian musicology
by
When the first edition of Queering the Pitch was published in early 1994, it was immediately hailed as a landmark and defining work in the new field of Gay Musicology. In light of the explosion of Gay Musicology since 1994, a new edition of Queering the Pitch is timely and needed. In this new work, the editors are including a landmark essay by Philip Brett on Gay Musicology, its history and scope. The essay itself has become a cause celebre, and this will be its first full appearance in print. Along with this new historical essay, the editors are contributing a new introduction that outlines the changes that have occurred over the last decade as Gay Musicology has grown.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9786610809608Publication Date: 2006 -
Listening to the Sirens
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780520215870Publication Date: 2005-10-30"Musical technologies of queer identity from Homer to Hedwig." "Listening to the Sirens analyzes the musical ways in which queer individuals express and discipline their desire, represent themselves, build communities, and subvert heterosexual expectations. It covers a wide range of musical experiences, including medieval songs; works by Handel, Tchaikovsky, and Britten; women's music and disco; performers such as Judy Garland, Melissa Etheridge, Madonna, and Marilyn Manson; and the movies The Rocky Horror Picture Show and Hedwig and the Angry Inch."
-
The Secret to Superhuman Strength
by
From the author of Fun Home, a graphic memoir about a lifelong love affair with exercise, set against a hilarious chronicle of fitness fads. The author delivers a deeply layered story of her fascination, from childhood to adulthood, with every fitness craze to come down the pike: from Jack LaLanne in the 60s ("Outlandish jumpsuit! Cantaloupe-sized guns!") to the existential oddness of twenty-first century spin class. Readers will see their athletic (or semi-active) pasts flash before their eyes through an ever-evolving panoply of running shoes, bicycles, skis, and sundry other gear. But the more Bechdel tries to improve herself, the more her self appears to be the thing in her way. She turns for enlightenment to Eastern philosophers and literary figures, including Beat writer Jack Kerouac, whose search for self-transcendence in the great outdoors appears in moving conversation with the author's own. This gifted artist - and not-getting-any-younger exerciser - comes to a soulful conclusion. The secret to superhuman strength lies not in six-pack abs, but in something much less clearly defined: facing her own non-transcendent but all-important interdependence with others. -- Adapted from publisher's description.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection GV481 .B38 2021ISBN: 9780544387652Publication Date: 2021-05-04 -
Super Late Bloomer
by
"A highly personal collection documenting the early months of artist Julia Kaye's gender transition. Instead of a traditional written diary, Julia Kaye has always turned to art as a means of self-reflection. So when she began her gender transition in 2016, she decided to use her popular webcomic, Up and Out, to process her journey and help others with similar struggles realize they weren't alone. Julia's poignant, relatable comics honestly depict her personal ups and downs while dealing with the various issues involved in transitioning-- from struggling with self-acceptance and challenging societal expectations, to moments of self-love and joy. Super Late Bloomer both educates and inspires, as Julia faces her difficulties head-on and commits to being wholly, authentically who she was always meant to be"--Page 4 of cover
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection HQ77.8.K35 A3 2018ISBN: 9781449489625Publication Date: 2018-05-01 -
Gender Queer: a Memoir
by
"In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intensely cathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes the mortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to come out to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fanfiction, and facing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on gender identity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates, friends, and humans everywhere"--Publisher's description.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection HQ77.8.K628 A3 2019ISBN: 9781549304002Publication Date: 2019-05-28 -
The Fifth Beatle - The Brian Epstein Story
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection f ML429.E6 T59 2016ISBN: 1616558350Publication Date: 2016-10-25Tells the story of Brian Epstein, the discoverer and manager of the Beatles, in graphic novel format that also includes memorabilia, sketches, and alternate covers, highlighting his struggle against a society that reviled his homosexuality, Judaism, and Liverpool upbringing. -
A Quick and Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection P279 .B64 2018ISBN: 9781620104996Publication Date: 2018-06-12"A quick, easy and important educational comic guide to using gender-neutral pronouns."--Amazon. -
Love Letters to Jane's World
by
"This essential Jane's World collection debuts twenty years after Jane Wyatt first appeared in Paige Braddock's trailblazing comics strip about a young lesbian woman making her clumsy way in the world and the friends who help (or hinder) her along the journey. The Eisner-nominated Jane's World was the first syndicated comic strip with a lesbian main character to appear in many major newspaper markets. This new volume collects the most quintessentially "Jane" storylines from the strip's early, middle, and later years, and pairs them with "love letters" and notes of appreciation from notable fans"-- provided by publisher.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6727.B725 L68 2018ISBN: 9781549302756Publication Date: 2018-08-21 -
Bingo Love
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6727.F6965 B56 2018ISBN: 9781534307506Publication Date: 2018-02-20 -
The Girl from the Sea
by
"Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish high school and escape her sad divorced mom, her volatile little brother, and worst of all, her great group of friends...who don't understand Morgan at all. Because really, Morgan's biggest secret is that she has a lot of secrets, including the one about wanting to kiss another girl. Then one night, Morgan is saved from drowning by a mysterious girl named Keltie. The two become friends and suddenly life on the island doesn't seem so stifling anymore. But Keltie has some secrets of her own. And as the girls start to fall in love, everything they're each trying to hide will find its way to the surface...whether Morgan is ready or not."--Page [4] of cover.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6727.O78 .G57 2021ISBN: 9781338540574Publication Date: 2021-06-01 -
The Magic Fish
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6727.T78 M34 2020ISBN: 9781984851598Publication Date: 2020-10-13"Real life isn't a fairytale. But Tié̂n still enjoys reading his favorite stories with his parents from the books he borrows from the local library. It's hard enough trying to communicate with your parents as a kid, but for Tié̂n, he doesn't even have the right words because his parents are struggling with their English. Is there a Vietnamese word for what he's going through? Is there a way to tell them he's gay?"-- Provided by publisher. -
Pervert
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection ; PN6727.B687 P47 2018ISBN: 9781534307414Publication Date: 2018-05-01"A surprisingly honest and touching account of a trans girl surviving through sex work in Seattle"--Provided by publisher. -
Death Threat
by
"In the fall of 2017, the acclaimed writer and musician Vivek Shraya began receiving vivid and disturbing transphobic hate mail from a stranger. Celebrated artist Ness Lee brings these letters and Shraya's responses to them to startling life in "Death Threat", a comic book that, by its existence, becomes a compelling act of resistance. Using satire and surrealism, "Death Threat" is an unflinching portrayal of violent harassment from the perspective of both the perpetrator and the target, illustrating the dangers of online accessibility, and the ease with which vitriolic hatred can be spread digitally."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6733.S483 .D43 2019ISBN: 9781551527505Publication Date: 2019-05-07 -
Generations
by
"After three years in Milan, Matteo returns home to the provincial country town where he was born and from which he had fled. Coming out as a young gay man in a provincial country town had led to ugly clashes with his conservative father, and the urban metropolis of Milan had been a welcome change from the stifling small town life of his childhood and the anger and bewilderment of some members of his family. But now, Matteo finds himself with little choice but to return home, with no money, no job, and an uncertain future, like so many other young people of his millennial generation. Afraid of encountering his estranged father, he instead takes refuge with his extended family, at a house shared by his grandmother, three aunts, and his very pregnant cousin. As he tries to rebuild his life, reconnecting with the women of his family and old hometown friends, he warily confronts a few truths about the other generations of his family--from their bigotry to their love, and tolerance, and acceptance--and a few truths about himself, including his fears of confrontation and commitment"--www.amazon.com.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6767.B56 G46 2017ISBN: 9781941302507Publication Date: 2017-10-24 -
The Case of Alan Turing (Graphic Novel)
by
Alan Turing, subject of the Oscar-winning 2014 film The Imitation Game, was the brilliant mathematician solicited by the British government to help decipher messages sent by Germany's Enigma machines during World War II. The work of Turing and his colleagues at Hut 8 created what became known as the "bombe" which descrambled the German navy's messages and saved countless lives and millions in British goods and merchandise. Despite his heroics, however, Turing led a secret life as a homosexual. After a young man with whom he was involved stole money from him, he went to the police, where he confessed his homosexuality; he was charged with gross indecency, and only avoided prison after agreeing to undergo chemical castration. Tragically, he committed suicide two years later.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection QA29.T8 L5313 2016ISBN: 9781551526508Publication Date: 2016-10-18 -
Gumballs
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6727.N386 A6 2018ISBN: 9781603094313Publication Date: 2018-06-26"Gumballs dispenses an array of bright, candy-colored short comics about Erin's gender transition, anecdotal tales of growing up as a triplet, and fictional stories of a socially inept lovestruck teenager named Tobias. The wide-ranging series is filled with single-page gag cartoons, visual diaries of everyday life, funny faux personal ads, and real-life horror stories from customers at his day job. Gumballs offers a variety of flavors that will surely delight anyone with a taste for candid self-reflection and observations of humanity"--Page 2 of cover -
Fine
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection ; PN6727.E98 F56 2022 (1 copy, 0 available, 1 request)ISBN: 9781631496806Publication Date: 2022-04-05"As graphic artist Rhea Ewing neared college graduation in 2012, they became consumed by a question: What is gender? This obsession sparked a quest in which they eagerly approached both friends and strangers in their quiet Midwestern town for interviews to turn into comics. A decade later, this project has exploded into a sweeping portrait of the intricacies of gender expression, with interviewees from all over the country. Questions such as How do you identify? produced fiercely honest stories of dealing with adolescence, taking hormones, changing pronouns--and how these experiences can differ, depending on culture, race, and religion. Amidst beautifully rendered scenes emerges Ewing's own story of growing up in rural Kentucky, grappling with their identity as a teenager, and ultimately finding themself through art"-- Back cover. -
Wuvable Oaf
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6727.L83 W89 2016ISBN: 9781606999721Publication Date: 2016-12-06"Oaf, a wuvable Bay Area bear, searches for love in the local metal and wrestling scenes in Blood and Metal, which collects a number of short stories. Featuring tales of Oaf's formative childhood years, and much more"-- Provided by publisher. -
No Straight Lines
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6720 .N6 2013ISBN: 9781606997185Publication Date: 2013-08-03A collection of underground comics created over the past forty years that feature gay men and lesbians and deal with issues of importance to the gay and lesbian community, including stories by Alison Bechdel, Howard Cruse, Ralf König, and David Wojnaraowicz. -
The Less Than Epic Adventures of TJ and Amal
by
"In the span of a single tumultuous evening, Amal calls off his arranged marriage, comes out to his conservative parents, gets disowned, goes on a bender-- and wakes up next morning to find a lanky, dreadlocked vagrant named TJ in his kitchen. TJ claims that the two have made a drunken pact to travel from Berkeley, California to Providence, Rhode Island. As it happens, Amal promised his sister he'd be in Providence for her graduation the following week. As for TJ-- well, he's got his own reasons. The agreement is simple: Amal does the driving, TJ pays the way-- but a 3500 mile journey leaves plenty of time for things to get complicated"--Page 4 of cover
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6727.W399 L47 2015ISBN: 9780983875550Publication Date: 2015-04-14 -
Snackies
by
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection PN6727.S8618 S63 2014ISBN: 9780990518617Publication Date: 2014-09-10Snackies is a hilarious collection of gags and real talk from one of the funniest voices in contemporary comics. This book includes Nick Sumida's self published mini-comics, as well as new and unpublished strips! Strips include God Tweets, yoga tutorial, the subway, and internet dating as a gay man in New York. -
Lunar Boy
by
"Indu, a boy from the moon, feels like he doesn't belong. He hasn't since he and his adoptive mom disembarked from their spaceship -- their home -- to live on Earth with their new blended family. The kids at school think he's weird; he has a crush on his pen pal, who might not like him back; and his stepfamily doesn't seem to know what to do with him. Worst of all, Indu can't even talk to his mom about how he's feeling because she's so busy. In a moment of loneliness, Indu calls out to the moon, begging them to take him back. And against all odds, the moon hears him and agrees to bring him home of the first day of the New Year. But as the promised day draws nearer, Indu finds friendship in unlikely places and discovers that home is more than where you come from. And when the moon calls again, Indu must decide: is he willing to give up what he's just found?" -- Dust jacket.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection ; PZ7.7.W5459 Lun 2024ISBN: 9780063057609Publication Date: 2024-05-14 -
Roaming
by
"Spring Break, 2009: Five days, three friends, and one big city. Roaming marks a triumphant return to the graphic novel and deft foray into new adult fiction for Caldecott Medal-winning authors Jillian Tamaki (Boundless) and Mariko Tamaki (Cold). Over the course of a much-anticipated trip to New York, an unexpected fling blossoms between casual acquaintances and throws a long-term friendship off-balance. Emotional tensions vibrate wildly against the resplendently illustrated backdrop of the city, capturing a spontaneous queer romance in all of its fledgling glory. Slick attention to the details of a bustling, intimidating metropolis are softened with a palette of muted pastels, as though seen through the eyes of first-time travelers. The awe, wonder, and occasional stumble along the way all come to life with stunning accuracy in this sumptuous softcover with gorgeous jacket. Roaming is the third collaboration from the critically acclaimed team behind Skim and Governor General's Literary Award winner This One Summer. Moody, atmospheric, and teeming with life, the magic of this comics duo leaks through the pages with lush and exquisite pen work. The Tamakis' singular, elegant vision of an urban paradise slowly revealing its imperfections to the tune of its visitors' rhythms is a masterpiece - a future classic for generations to come"-- Publisher's description.
Call Number: 1st Floor - Graphic Novel Collection ; PN6733.T355 R63 2023ISBN: 9781770464339Publication Date: 2023-09-12 -
Queer Indigenous Studies
by
""This book is an imagining." So begins this collection examining critical, Indigenous-centered approaches to understanding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, and Two-Spirit (GLBTQ2) lives and communities and the creative implications of queer theory in Native studies. This book is not so much a manifesto as it is a dialogue--a "writing in conversation"--Among a luminous group of scholar-activists revisiting the history of gay and lesbian studies in Indigenous communities while forging a path for Indigenous centered theories and methodologies. The bold opening to Queer Indigenous Studies invites new dialogues in Native American and Indigenous studies about the directions and implications of queer Indigenous studies. The collection notably engages Indigenous GLBTQ2 movements as alliances that also call for allies beyond their bounds, which the co-editors and contributors model by crossing their varied identities, including Native, trans, straight, non-Native, feminist, Two-Spirit, mixed blood, and queer, to name just a few. Rooted in the Indigenous Americas and the Pacific, and drawing on disciplines ranging from literature to anthropology, contributors to Queer Indigenous Studies call Indigenous GLBTQ2 movements and allies to center an analysis that critiques the relationship between colonialism and heteropatriarchy. By answering critical turns in Indigenous scholarship that center Indigenous epistemologies and methodologies, contributors join in reshaping Native studies, queer studies, transgender studies, and Indigenous feminisms. Based on the reality that queer Indigenous people "experience multilayered oppression that profoundly impacts our safety, health, and survival," this book is at once an imagining and an invitation to the reader to join in the discussion of decolonizing queer Indigenous research and theory and, by doing so, to partake in allied resistance working toward positive change."--Publisher's description.
Call Number: Lower Level ; E98.S48 Q84 2011ISBN: 9780816529070Publication Date: 2011-03-15 -
Navigating with You
by
"Neesha Sparks is a disabled, vocal community activist with a passion for costume design. Gabby Graciana is an optimistic surfer -- and, like Neesha, a new kid at school. When the two girls discover that they like the same manga series, Navigator Nozomi, they become more than just fellow new kids. But it was more than just having read the same book series -- neither of them had finished it! Soon, they become new friends on a mission -- to track down the remaining Navigator Nozomi books. This slice-of-life romance follows the two girls as they adventure across North Carolina to find each book, with their story intercut by the tales of Navigator Nozomi. Neesha and Gabby find more than just the books though -- they find acceptance, friendship, understanding and love." -- Back cover.
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Teacher Resource Center/Curr ; PN6727.W4547 N38 2024ISBN: 9781952303609Publication Date: 2024-08-13
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
-
Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Search across all of Gale Primary Sources. Focuses on sexuality and gender history in the latter half of the twentieth century with content particularly, but not exclusively, exploring LGBTQ+ experiences. Composed of 51 unique collections drawn from major international bodies to local grassroots organizations, these historical documents illuminate the sexual experiences of LGBTQ+ persons and individuals from various races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and locations. These primary sources also provide significant coverage of the history of women's rights campaigns. With numerous female-authored sources, the archive helps uncover more elusive female perspectives on issues related to sex, social structures, science, politics, society, expectations, and gender roles. This collection consists of LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I and II.
-
Coming Out: A 50 Year History
by
Call Number: streaming videoPublication Date: 2017Interviews with LGBTQ elders who came out in different historical eras from the 1950s through today. -
Marsha P. Johnson: Transgender Activist
Call Number: streaming videoPublication Date: 2021Short video on the life of Marsha P. Johnson, a key figure in the Stonewall uprising. -
Stonewall
Call Number: Streaming videoPublication Date: 2020Every year in June, the Gay Pride parade is a wild party. It hasn’t always been like this. While 2020 marks its 50th anniversary, it was originally the first time gays and lesbians walked the streets in New York, claiming publicly to be out, and this procession was intended to commemorate the Stonewall riots that had occurred a year earlier. -
Lorraine Hansberry : sighted eyes, feeling heart
Call Number: Streaming videoPublication Date: 2017This documentary sheds valuable light on all aspects of Lorraine Hansberry's play, A Raisin in the Sun, including the daunting challenge of securing investment and a venue for this production about a working class Black family, the casting process, artistic debates and finally its public reception. The film features interviews with the play's original cast members, Sidney Poitier, Ruby Dee, Louis Gossett, Jr. and Glynn Turman, director Lloyd Richards, producer Phil Rose, supporter Harry Belafonte as well as writer Amiri Baraka along with excerpts from the 1961 Hollywood movie. Additionally the film reveals how central feminism was to her ideas and boldly acknowledges (using her diary entries) her same gender relationships and private lesbian identity before the appearance of the gay rights movement. -
Bessie Smith, 1925-1933
by
Call Number: streaming audioPublication Date: 1987A selection of recordings from the "Empress of the Blues." -
Homo Say What: Who's Pushing Hate?
Call Number: streaming videoPublication Date: 2020Homophobia didn't just happen, it took decades of instruction and collaboration to shape public opinion in support of the idea that it's an acceptable practice in our society. -
Daddy and Papa
Call Number: streaming videoPublication Date: 2015Daddy & Papa is a one-hour documentary video that opens a candid window on the personal, cultural and political implications of gay fatherhood. -
-
And his mother called him Bill
by
Call Number: 3rd Floor -- Music/Media CD CD14276Publication Date: 2001The Duke Ellington Orchestra plays music of Billy Strayhorn. -
Digital moonscapes: An evolutionary synthesizer tour de force
by
Call Number: 3rd Floor - Music/Media Audio ST22645Publication Date: 1984Original compositions by a transgender pioneer of electronic music. -
Lesbian American composers
by
Call Number: 3rd Floor -- Music/Media CD CD6537Publication Date: 1998Composers include Ruth Anderson, Pauline Oliveros, Annea Lockwood, Eve Beglarian and more. -
Gay American composers
by
Call Number: 3rd Floor -- Music/Media CD CD4830Publication Date: 1996Composers include Lou Harrison, Lee Hoiby, Robert Helps, Ned Rorem. David Del Tredici, and more. -
Gay American composers. Volume two.
by
Call Number: 3rd Floor -- Music/Media CD CD5795Publication Date: 1997Composers include John Cage, Aaron Copland, Henry Cowell, Harry Partch, Samuel Barber, Marc Blitzstein, and Virgil Thomson. -
Brengelman LGBTQ Collection
by
Dr. Frederick Henry Brengelman (1928-2019) was a professor of Linguistics at Fresno State for 50 years and an early pioneer and advocate for LGBTQ rights who curated his own LGBTQ book collection. These are the books from his collection, donated to the Special Collections Research Center by his family in 2019. -
Enclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0684314274Publication Date: 2004-02-01"Authored by community-based researchers and academics, the articles in this set treat various aspects of LGBT history, culture, politics, and society in America. Some 550 entries cover workplace movements, Queer Nation, fashion and clothing, coming out and outing, family issues, health care and clinics, and federal law and policy. Also included are more than 200 biographies, 230 photographs, a 400-year chronology of LGBT history, and an appendix of repositories in the United States and Canada."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005. -
Mouths of rain : an anthology of Black lesbian thought
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781620976258Publication Date: 2021"A groundbreaking collection tracing the history of intellectual thought by Black Lesbian writers, in the tradition of The New Press's perennial seller Words of Fire"-- Provided by publisher.
