Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Sources

This guide will help you learn the difference between primary and secondary sources in various subject areas and provides resources for locating primary sources, both in the library and on the open web.

African American History Resources

African American Heritage Resources from the National Archives Links to materials, some of which have been digitized, related to African American History from the National Archives.

Black Abolitionist Archive A collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks, and editorials from the period. Includes audio and digital files.

Civil Rights--Resources from the National Archives

Civil Rights Movement Collections from the Digital Public Library of America.

NAACP: A Century in the Fight for Freedom, 1909-2009 Encompass a wide variety of materials, including manuscripts, photographs, prints, pamphlets, broadsides, audiotapes, phonograph records, films, and video recordings.

Civil Rights - Primary Source Set (from the Library of Congress American Memory Project) 

Jim Crow in America - Primary Source Set (Library of Congress American Memory Project) 

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database Provides the most comprehensive source of data currently available on the trans-Atlantic slave trade. Contains records of nearly 35,000 separate slaving voyages between 1514 and 1866, gleaned from original documents and historical publications located in archives, libraries, and other institutions throughout the world.

Black Newspapers Collection Newspapers that were owned by, operated by, or intended for Black communities in Illinois from 1897-2003.

California collections

African American Museum and Library at Oakland Several collections related to the historical and cultural experiences of African Americans in Northern California.

Grapevine Magazine From 1969 to 1982, the Grapevine Magazine highlighted hundreds of stories about African Americans in California's Central Valley in the fields of medicine, history, civil rights, education, religion, government, law, politics, business, sports, and entertainment.

Compton Communicative Arts Academy (CCAA) Images that document African American art and culture, community-based art making, and art-based community making in Los Angeles during the early 1970s.

Black Voice News First published by students at UC Riverside, the paper focuses on the inland area’s black community.

Harold K. Brown Civil Rights Collection Digitized selections from the Harold K. Brown Papers, a collection that documents Mr. Brown's participation in the San Diego Civil Rights Movement.

Creating Community: African Americans in San Diego Interviews with prominent San Diego African Americans.

Citizens Interracial Committee Civil Rights Era Audio Recordings Recordings of community dialogues to discuss issues such as racism, police sensitivity, education, and employment discrimination within the city of San Diego.

Black Spartans Documentation of Black experiences at San Jose State University.

Civil Rights and Campus Protest Collection Documents related to campus protest movements of the 1960s and 1970s at San Jose State College.