LibGuides: Primary &amp; Secondary Sources: Music

Library Databases

These databases require a Fresno State account for access.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound includes more than 35,000 tracks in the categories of American folk, blues, bluegrass, old time country, American Indian, world, jazz, spoken word & sounds and children’s music. It includes the published recordings owned by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.

Library of Congress Digital Collections -- Audio Recordings
Online recordings at the Library of Congress include music along with interviews, oral histories, and more.
National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress
Historical sound recordings from 1901 to 1925.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA includes digitized material from many libraries and archives in the US. To find recordings, search by keyword, then choose "Type: sound."
Europeana Music
Recordings, sheet music, and other music items from the collections of libraries across Europe.
British Library Sounds
Spoken word, theater, oral histories, nature recordings, jazz, classical, and traditional music.
USCB Cylinder Audio Archive
A collection of digitized cylinder recordings available for streaming from the University of California, Santa Barbara
Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection
Digital audio files of cylinders from Syracuse University's Belfer Archive
Association for Cultural Equity/Alan Lomax Archive
Recordings of folk music from around the world, along with photographs, videos, and more.
GlobalJukebox
Thousands of recordings of traditional music, browsable by geography.
radiOM.org
Sponsored by Other Minds, includes selections from broadcasts of "KPFA-FM radio in Berkeley (1949-1995), and concerts and talks produced by Other Minds in San Francisco (1993-2005)."

IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library
Over half a million scores of public domain music, mostly older editions of Western classical music.
ChoralWiki/CPDL
Focuses on choral and vocal music, some newer editions.
Band Music PDF Library
Scores and parts for band music that is in the public domain.
Early Music Online
Digitized copies of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, from holdings at the British Library.
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM)
Index to Medieval music manuscripts, with links in many cases to digitized copies.
New York Philharmonic Digital Archives
Digitized scores and parts from the orchestra's performance library, showing notations made by conductors and performers, along with concert programs and other documents.
BGSU Sheet Music Collection
Public domain sheet music digitized by Bowling Green State University and available through JSTOR.
UCLA Contemporary Music Score Collection
Digital, open access scores from the UCLA Music Library.