Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Sources

This guide will help you learn the difference between primary and secondary sources in various subject areas and provides resources for locating primary sources, both in the library and on the open web.

Native American History Resources

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). The work was first published in 1903-04 by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Fully digitized and searchable online.

California collections

Native American Documents Project includes three sets of data: Published Reports of the Commissioner of Indian, Affairs and the Board of Indian Commissioners for 1871, Allotment Data collection, and Rogue River War and Siletz Reservation collection.

Dorothy M Hill Collection Photographs and other materials documenting the culture, language, and life of Northeastern California's Native American tribes and families in the early 1960s.

Humboldt State Digital Archive Many photograph collections that include native people of Northwestern California.