Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants. In addition to thousands of items that are now accessible to any Internet user, the collection includes contextual information on voluntary immigration and quantitative data. The site offers additional links to related digital resources on immigration to the US, including vital materials on the African diaspora.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics from the US Department of Homeland Security Web site, this database aggregates data tables on foreign nationals who: (1) have been granted lawful permanent residence for being admitted as immigrants or becoming legal permanent residents; (2) have been admitted on a temporary basis (students, workers, tourists); (3) have been granted asylum or refugee status; and (4) are becoming naturalized citizens. Each category is divided into subsets including immigrants' country of origin, type and class of admission, gender, age, marital status, and occupation. The database also provides statistics on immigration law enforcement actions such as alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions. (Source: CHOICE review 2006nov, 44-1311)