Collections on Japanese Americans in World War II

Manzanar War Relocation Center.  July, 1942.

CSU Japanese American Digitization Project. Collections from 17 California State University campuses as well as a wide variety of other institutions, including the Japanese American National Museum, California Historical Society and others. Primary source materials focused on the mass incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II, but also related to the history and progress of Japanese Americans in their communities throughout the 20th century.

Japanese American Digital Collections and Exhibits. Comprised of the San Joaquin Valley Japanese Americans in World War II Collection and the JACL-CCDC Japanese American Oral History Collection, 1998-2005 (39 DVDs). SJV Japanese Americans in WWII is a digitized collection documenting the history of Japanese Americans who were sent to incarceration camps during World War II brings together the Success through Perseverance collection from the Fresno County Public Library and the JACL-CCDC Japanese American Oral History collection, TOMO Foundation and Japanese Americans in World War II collections from the Special Collections Research Center at California State University, Fresno. The digitized collection contains oral histories, newsletters and photographs.

The JACL-CCDC Japanese American Oral History Collection is a collection of 36 videotaped interviews with Japanese Americans (primarily Nisei) in the San Joaquin Valley. Funded by the Japanese Americans Citizens League (JACL), the oral histories were initiated by the late Izumi Taniguchi, a retired professor of Economics at California State University, Fresno. The JACL-CCDC oral histories can be accessed online through our San Joaquin Valley Japanese Americans in World War II digitized collection.