Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Americans in World War II

Japanese American Archival Collections

In addition to the books contained within the main book collection on the Lower Level (several of which are noted on this bibliography), there are several collections, digital and physical, available for use.  The physical collections listed below can viewed in the Special Collections Research Center on the 4th floor, South Wing, Monday through Friday between 8:00 and 5:00 by appointment.

Digitized Collections:

San Joaquin Valley Japanese Americans in World War II Collection.  This digitized collection documenting the history of Japanese Americans who were sent to incarceration camps during World War II brings together the Success through Perseverance collection from the Fresno County Public Library and the JACL-CCDC Japanese American Oral History collection, TOMO Foundation and Japanese Americans in World War II collections from the Special Collections Research Center at California State University, Fresno. The digitized collection contains oral histories, newsletters and photographs.

JACL-CCDC Japanese American Oral History Collection, 1998-2005 (39 DVDs). A collection of 36 videotaped interviews with Japanese Americans (primarily Nisei) in the San Joaquin Valley. Funded by the Japanese Americans Citizens League (JACL), the oral histories were initiated by the late Izumi Taniguchi, a retired professor of Economics at California State University, Fresno. The JACL-CCDC oral histories can be accessed online through our San Joaquin Valley Japanese Americans in World War II digitized collection.

Physical Collections:

Violet Kazue de Cristoforo Collection, 1934-2007 (5.25 linear feet).  Personal experiences of a Japanese-American internee during World War II, and her poetry published about her experiences later in life.

Japanese Americans in World War II Collection, 1920-1995, (1 linear foot). Newsletters produced in internment camps, pamphlets, newspapers, and photographs relating the experiences of Japanese American internees during World War II, especially in the San Joaquin Valley. Also includes official documents issued by the U.S. government declaring the official stance. The Japanese Americans in World War II photographs, newsletters and other publications can be accessed online through our San Joaquin Valley Japanese Americans in World War II digitized collection.

Walter E. Pollock Collection, 1942-1955, 1966-1985, 1995 (1.75 linear feet).  Research and writings relating to the Japanese-American incarceration during World War II.

TOMO Foundation Collection, 1942-1945 (9 linear inches). Newsletters and circulars produced in World War II Japanese internment camps and assembly centers in California, Colorado, Arizona, Utah and Wyoming. Includes sixty-three official photographs of Japanese Americans in camps and other locations, commissioned by the War Relocation Authority. The TOMO Foundation photographs can be accessed online through our San Joaquin Valley Japanese Americans in World War II digitized collection.